Would FD-ISR have saved me ?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Banshee, Apr 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    Hi All,


    I wonder if FD would have saved me from this mess.

    A few days ago i got myself a copy of Fd but maybe,now, it's a bit too late.Let me explain.

    I have a P4 3,gh and 250gb hd. I had ATI for over 2 years now and never had a problem

    restoring images.Never ever.Till 2 weeks ago.

    What happened is that my pc started rebooting at random.One day it would not even load the

    OS.So I rebooted,hit f11 to get the ATI pre-boot screen and my pc went beeeeeeeeeep and it

    wouldn't stop beeping till I hit power reset.I tried many times..Same result... beeeeeeep

    and all that.

    I then inserted my original Xp cd and rebooted again. It would start the usual procedure of

    reinstalling Xp and then I would get some *.exe or *.dll error.Tried reinstalling xp from

    the cd over and over again but no joy.I am stuck with my old p4 with 128 of ram now :-(.

    I called tech support, explained everything to the best of my ability.They made me do stuff

    at the pc and eventually told me that probably my hard drive is gone and that they will send

    a technician.I called them so many times they keep on telling me to call back later.This has

    been going on for 2 weeks.What a pain.

    Now I have Fd installed on this old pc and was wondering if I could do something about it?

    Sorry if this sounds dumb but I really don't know what to do.:oops:


    Any help appreciated.


    Thanks

    B
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Hard to tell, if FDISR would have saved you. Maybe you have a hardware failure.
    FDISR isn't foolproof either and sometimes I need ATI to restore my computer, maybe it wasn't necessary, but I don't take any chances and my knowledge isn't big enough to fix problems. If FDISR can't fix it, ATI will fix it.

    Once I installed F-Secure Internet Security and I was stucked in an infinite loop of reboot and couldn't get to Windows.
    I pressed the F1 key on the FDISR Splash Screen and I was back in business.

    It depends on what is wrong.
     
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Did you check your bios? I seem to remember something about a beeping in connection with that. I apologize if I'm off base with that, it was a long time ago.
     
  4. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    >FDISR isn't foolproof either and sometimes I need ATI to restore my >computer, maybe it wasn't necessary, but I don't take any chances and my >knowledge isn't big enough to fix problems. If FDISR can't fix it, ATI will fix >it.


    It happened to you that FDSIR couldn't fix something but ATI did ?


    In which case I better keep ATI as well...
     
  5. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    ATI never failed on me, when FDISR couldn't do the job/

    This is my PERSONAL way to deal with software problems :
    1. I don't waste my time on finding the real cause of a problem (small or big)
    2. I'm not an expert of computers, Windows, Internet, Security, Malware either.
    3. So if any problem occurs I use my recovery solutions to fix it.
    4. FDISR does that all for me as quick as possible, that's why I paid more than $70 for it.
    5. If FDISR fails, I use ATI to fix it and ATI never failed on me.
    6. If ATI fails, I still have my archived snapshots to fix it.

    FDISR can fail, ATI can fail, but the chance that both fail at the SAME TIME, is VERY RARE in practice.
    The same with my 3 harddisks, one disk can crash, but not all three at the same time. :)

    I'm not an expert in anything, but I'm not stupid either and my experience as an application analyst helps me alot of course.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2007
  6. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    FD will almost always work.................I have had one problem in 2 years caused by a clash with Shadowprotect (VSS)

    but....
    if the hard disk fails you will still need ATI. ​

    If the motherboard fails unless your are lucky or using ATI with Uni restore​
    or have sys prep ATI images you will still need to restore.


    So I'd create a base ATI image (sys prep) and then use FD archives to store snapshots on another disk and then take ATI images as you like
     
  7. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543

    Bios ? what should I check in there ? I have no idea what to look for...:eek:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.