WormGuard with Windows XP SP2 Beta

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by Dardasaba, Mar 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dardasaba

    Dardasaba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Israel
    Hello,
    I was using WormGuard with Windows XP SP1 for a few weeks without any problems, but when I updated to SP2 beta, WormGuard stopped reacting to any suspicious files like multiple extensions, .vbs files that I added to the auto-block list and other. I tried Re-Installing WG but that doesn't help. However, when I scan a file by right clicking on it and choosing 'scan with WormGuard' it does give a warning if needed.
    This is not a question, just letting you know about this incompatibillity.
    Alright, that's it, Talk to you later.
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Thanks for letting us know!
    it's a beta eh that SP2 and can't be undone probably.
    Would be interesting to know if all is back to normal if you could go back to the SP1 situation.
    MS should be told it effects other software in functioning properly, as it is part of your protection shield of course.
    Does it effect your other programs too?
    Does it do it's job on the test file/demo i put in the TDS forum here?
     
  3. Dardasaba

    Dardasaba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Israel
    Woha Jooske, you're fast :p
    Ok, to respond your questions...
    I don't think I'm gonna go back to SP1, I noticed a huge improvement in performance in SP2, everything is almost as fast and stable as on my linux partition! :D
    Also, it hasn't effected any other programs to my knowledge, and yes, I tried your test file, and it only detects it if I scan it by right clicking on the file...
    Thanks for the help hun ;)
    By the way..
    <-- Is not my real picture :D
     
  4. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    At least you've a testfile you can paste in more stuff to be tested just as easy and no problem if it would get lost.
    If you have files with double extensions, does TDS scanning react on that?

    I was not suggesting to go all back to SP1, just as a test to be sure if that SP2 beta was the cause of the sudden problems.
    Nice to hear it is so good and stable on your system, must be quite an improvement, but if it is disabling other programs functionallity, guess you've a lot to test to be sure which!

    Is that really not your portrait? Hm, i've always been told about little green men inside the computers, multicolored now these days. Nice avatar.
     
  5. Dardasaba

    Dardasaba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Israel
    1. Yes, TDS still detects files with dual extensions.
    2. I'm pretty certain it's because of SP2 because when I try and run your test file windows asks if I am sure I want to run that file and that it can harm my computer and bla bla bla yada yada yada which didn't happen in SP1, maybe windows suspends that file and stops WG from scanning or accessing it until I choose wether I want to allow it to run or not, and until I do reply, maybe WG gets an I/O error and stops trying to scan it.. I don't know :p
    3. WG seems to be the only program effected by SP2.
    4. Ok, I admit it, it is my picture, but I was having a bad hair-day! :D
     
  6. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Is windows giving that warning? what you describe is the normal WG warning with the bla and stop ho now before it is too late -- till you press the allow and yes i'm really sure etc. ok there it goes ...
    How does this new testdemo file work for you, correct as described and via TDS doing what it's supposed to do including the voice and radius update etc?
    Did not try to include names from the blocked list in it and see what happens if i allow the test file to run.
    I would use innocent names of course of something available and easy to be tested, like the calc.exe for instance.
    Guess for your test good to try in fact.
     
  7. Dardasaba

    Dardasaba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Israel
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Looks like an exec protection, good job, hopes it cooperates fine with TDS exec protection.
    Thanks for the shot on it.
    You will miss the view in safe mode!
    Hope it's solved soon for you, somehow.
    Does MS support react already? As there might be more programs falling victim to their new SP2 beta.

    My testdemo is ever going to become famous :)
     
  9. Dardasaba

    Dardasaba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Israel
    Yup... *stares at Gavin's direction*

    Can't report bugs, I'm not an "official" beta tester.
     
  10. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Dardasaba, I wonder if this is a function of MS's AV API ? If so I am sure WG4 will not be affected :)
     
  11. Dardasaba

    Dardasaba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Israel
    Hey Pilli, there are many API acronyms :p To which one are you referring to?
     
  12. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Anti Virus API? :)
     
  13. Dardasaba

    Dardasaba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Israel
    I mean.. what does API stand for?
     
  14. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Application Program Interface

    API is a much used term in windows. you might like to type the api in google and read some about it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.