Wormguard/TDS-3 Not scanning

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by deerfern, Dec 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deerfern

    deerfern Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    Hi,

    I am a brand new newbie, so please be gentle !

    When I right click a file, I get the options for scanning via TDS-3 or Wormguard. However, when I first started TDS-3, and prior to installing Wormguard, TDS-3 would boot up, do it's normal thing, and then seem to start scanning the file (the file name would appear) but it would never say it finished. Now, after installing WormGuard, it doesn't even boot up when I click to scan.

    When I click to scan in WormGuard, previously it went hay-wire, scanning a hundred times, til I rebooted. I uninstalled and reinstalled a million times by now. Now, it will not scan at all.

    So, I went to TDS-3 and hit F5 (or Help/Forum Discussions) Guess what? It brings me to:

    http://www.dcsresearch.com/

    Now somehow I don't think this company is part of TDS-3, but I could be wrong.

    Help!
     
  2. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Hi,

    Wormguard scanned a lot of times ? Bug.. this is probably ok now as it SEEMS not to scan, but actually it scans very quickly and gives no alarm.

    www.dcsresearch.com is no longer owned by us, unfortunately. TDS should add an entry to your HOSTS file to redirect that address to the correct ip. You can add it yourself like this if you like

    203.161.127.141   www.dcsresearch.com

    Or just bookmark http://www.diamondcs.com.au/forum/
     
  3. deerfern

    deerfern Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    Hi Gavin,

    Thank you once again. Difficult to see if that scan is working since it is so fast, I don't see anything, but I do trust you I hope it's working.

    I can't locate how to change the hosts file within TDS-3. Can you tell me?

    Also, I can log in to my account, but I can't find that page where it shows which programs I have registered. I found it once but can't any more. Can you tell me how to access it?

    Thanks !

    Carol
     
  4. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Hi
    This is the link you're looking for:
    http://diamondcs.com.au/processguard/index.php?page=members
    the host file you have to edit with notepad for W2000 it is located here:
     

    Attached Files:

    • Host.jpg
      Host.jpg
      File size:
      26.2 KB
      Views:
      664
  5. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    And this is the modifiation you have to make
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.