Won't run in safe mode

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by doug6949, May 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. doug6949

    doug6949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    110
    V2 never would run in safe mode for me. I recently upgraded to the latest version and it won't run in safe mode either.

    Control center produces some error about the nod kernel. I can get nod to open the manual scanner but the scan buttons on the bottom are missing.

    It's been this way for three years. I use the blackviper list to disable services (W2K). Could I have disabled something nod needs?
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, doug6949

    I do not know why it will not start in Safe Mode, But I have used BlackViper Setting [plus] since 2001 with no problem on 2Ksp4 and XPProsp2. [all so using them with XPx64]

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  3. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Hi there,

    I have something similar happening:

    When I try to open NOD32 control centre in safe mode I get
    ' nod32kui, error occured during communication with NOD32 kernel service '

    Then if I try to run the on demand scanner I get this:

    ' Error occured while scanning operating memory. System memory cannot be scanned (the kernel service is not running or an error occured while loading nod32m1.vxd).'

    it will eventually scan folders and files without any problems.

    In normal mode everything seems to be fine, I'm just wondering why this is happening in safe mode.

    Thanks in advance for any feedback.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    This is pretty normal and I would be very suprised if you could open the Control Center and scan memory without an error in safe mode.
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    ... and this happens to all AVs :D
    Nothing wrong ! :)
     
  6. pc-support

    pc-support Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    285
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    It wont run in safe mode because windows only allows certain system services to start up in safe mode - and the NOD service is not one of them. Pretty obvious I would have thought...
     
  7. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Osaban

    Use NOD32, not the Control Center in SafMode to do the scanning.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  8. doug6949

    doug6949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    110
    It's not obvious to me. I keep seeing suggestions to scan in safe mode. What am I missing?
     
  9. doug6949

    doug6949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    110
    Could someone loan me a scan button - mine's missing.
    ;)
     
  10. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, doug6949

    Are you using NOD32 and Not the NOD32 Control Centre.

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:

    PS: English used spelling for Center. :cautious:
     
  11. pc-support

    pc-support Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    285
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK

    Start / Programs / Eset / NOD32 (NOT the control centre)!
     
  12. doug6949

    doug6949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    110
    From my original post.

    The bottom of the panel is missing. I thought it was a video problem but the same thing occurs with the new video card.
     
  13. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Is it an ATI card?

    Cheers :D
     
  14. doug6949

    doug6949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    110
    The first was a Matrox G400. The present video comes from an on-board chipset on the Asus motherboard.
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi doug6949, can you please download a FRESH copy of Nod32 from www.nod32.com

    Uninstall your current version.

    REBOOT your Computer.

    Remove the Eset Folder from C Drive> Program Files.

    Install the FRESH copy of Nod32 that you downloaded above using “Typical Settings”.

    Let us know how you go…

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.