Won't Perform Scan

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by carpus, May 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. carpus

    carpus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    New install of nod32 trail on XP machine.
    When I try to perform a local or in-depth analysis nothing happens. Every third or fourth try the scan window pops up for a 1/2 second but then closes.
    I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling. No luck.
    Also, when I look at the Nod32 Scanner log it lists a time for every instance I tried to start the scan but all other fields have ? under them. Thanks.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi carpus, welcome to Wilders.

    What previous antivirus software was on that system?

    Cheers :D
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,411
    Are you able to run the on-demand scanner (nod32.exe) manually?
     
  4. carpus

    carpus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I had nod32 2.51 installed and uninstalled it before installing 22.70.32.
    I cannot run nod32.exe manually. The same thing happens. The scan window pops up and goes away so fast that I cannot read anything on it.
    Thanks. Great forum. Glad I came across it. :)
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi there, please go to a command prompt by doing the following:

    • Click on Start
    • Click on All Programs
    • Click on Accessories
    • Click on Command Prompt.
    • Type "C:\Program Files\ESET\Install\setup.exe" /test (with the quotes)
    • Press enter on your keyboard.
    • This will write a log to C:\Program Files\ESET\Install\nsetup.log
    • Send a copy the contents of this log file to support @ eset.com with a link to this thread.

    Cheers :D
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,411
    Maybe you have a threat running in memory that closes the scanner. Please email support[at]eset.com for further instructions.

    In the mean time, you can try renaming nod32.exe to, e.g. nod32new.exe and run it.
     
  7. carpus

    carpus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I will try both of these suggestions.
    Thanks for the help. :)
     
  8. carpus

    carpus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Well I renamed nod32.exe and the manual scanner box came up and it works. So what does that mean and how do I fix the problem? Thanks.
     
  9. sparx

    sparx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    60
    Run a full in-depth scan with NOD32 and see if it comes up with anything.
     
  10. carpus

    carpus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I can't run an in-depth scan b/c I can only get the on demand scan to work by renaming nod32.exe. Nothing came up on the on demand scan.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.