Won't Perform Scan

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by carpus, May 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. carpus

    carpus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    New install of nod32 trail on XP machine.
    When I try to perform a local or in-depth analysis nothing happens. Every third or fourth try the scan window pops up for a 1/2 second but then closes.
    I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling. No luck.
    Also, when I look at the Nod32 Scanner log it lists a time for every instance I tried to start the scan but all other fields have ? under them. Thanks.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi carpus, welcome to Wilders.

    What previous antivirus software was on that system?

    Cheers :D
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Are you able to run the on-demand scanner (nod32.exe) manually?
     
  4. carpus

    carpus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I had nod32 2.51 installed and uninstalled it before installing 22.70.32.
    I cannot run nod32.exe manually. The same thing happens. The scan window pops up and goes away so fast that I cannot read anything on it.
    Thanks. Great forum. Glad I came across it. :)
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi there, please go to a command prompt by doing the following:

    • Click on Start
    • Click on All Programs
    • Click on Accessories
    • Click on Command Prompt.
    • Type "C:\Program Files\ESET\Install\setup.exe" /test (with the quotes)
    • Press enter on your keyboard.
    • This will write a log to C:\Program Files\ESET\Install\nsetup.log
    • Send a copy the contents of this log file to support @ eset.com with a link to this thread.

    Cheers :D
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Maybe you have a threat running in memory that closes the scanner. Please email support[at]eset.com for further instructions.

    In the mean time, you can try renaming nod32.exe to, e.g. nod32new.exe and run it.
     
  7. carpus

    carpus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I will try both of these suggestions.
    Thanks for the help. :)
     
  8. carpus

    carpus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Well I renamed nod32.exe and the manual scanner box came up and it works. So what does that mean and how do I fix the problem? Thanks.
     
  9. sparx

    sparx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    60
    Run a full in-depth scan with NOD32 and see if it comes up with anything.
     
  10. carpus

    carpus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I can't run an in-depth scan b/c I can only get the on demand scan to work by renaming nod32.exe. Nothing came up on the on demand scan.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.