Wondering About Kaspersky 6 AV:

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by wtsinnc, Dec 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Hi;

    I received as a gift a sealed KAV version 6 install CD with product key good for one year.

    My question is, would this provide adequate antivirus protection, and is the signature database for KAV 6 the same as it is for later versions ?

    I understand that rootkit detection was not included until version 7 and that the engine has been improved, but I have read archives from AV-Comparatives, Virus Bulletin, and Virus.org and all indications are that KAV 6 was a very good antivirus solution.
    With an updated signature database, would it be worth using ?

    Any thoughts/opinions ?
     
  2. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    You can proberbly use the key for the latest version.
     
  3. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    KAV 6.0 was probably the "best" av then when it was released but I'm afraid this version is currently not supported http://support.kaspersky.com/supported_home
    I'd say your best bet would be to upgrade to the latest v2010 which else has improved and up-to-date technologies.

    I'm not sure if your license key will be valid in the latest version, most likely you'll have to pay a small fee so you can use it. Contact KL Support ;)

    ______________________________________

    :argh: HAVE A HAPPY NEW YEAR 2010 ALL :argh:
    ______________________________________
     
  4. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Thanks for the replies and information. :)
     
  5. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London

    As pointed out above KAV6 is out of support now, you will almost certainly be able to upgrade to the newest version, but will probably need your key replaced by support first. There shouldn't be a charge for this.
     
  6. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Yeah, kinda outdated :p
     
  7. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    i have a KIS comercial 91 days lic and also a full 365 days lic and when i tried to install the one year lic it said i will lose the previous lic . Is it possible to preserve the days i have still unused ? or i just let it go?
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    This sucks in general. I got my KAV7 license from ASUS along with ASUS Rampage II Gene motherboard. However there is no way of updating it to latest version and you're forced to use old outdated version. And that's just lame.
    So i just ditched it and started using avast! again. Good idea, but bad badly designed...
     
  9. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Uninstall KAV7 and then install KAV 2010 and insert your KAV7 license, should work no problem. Some vendors have different license numbers and activation codes so make sure you enter the correct one. Only KAV6 and older don't work with 2010, but then you can contact Kaspersky support and they'll give you one that works with 2010.

    Does anyone know if it is possible to use KAV with a KIS license?
     
  10. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    Does anyone know if it is possible to use KAV with a KIS license?[/QUOTE]
    no you can not as far as i know
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    no its not possible to use kav with a kis license however you can do a custom install of kis to only install the componants of kav.
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    the only reason for that as far as i know is because that license is an oem kaspersky license. standard kaspersky licenses allow upgrading to the lastest version at no cost.
     
  13. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Via the link provided by Macstorm, I am allowed to upgrade to the latest version.

    By the way, in my op, I stated the licence was for KAV.
    Actually, it is for KIS, so I plan to download/install KIS 2009 today.

    Again, thanks for the link, Macstorm.
    (I just hope KIS 2009 runs as light on this PC as KIS 2006.)
     
  14. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London

    Hi,

    Technically you should be able to upgrade to 2010, the latest version....you can try and apply the code to a 2010 install but it probably wont work. If you open a support ticket and ask for a replacement code they should generate one for you.
     
  15. kasperking

    kasperking Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    hi...Baz any idea what is the shelf life of a Kaspersky Internet Security code is ?
     
  16. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London

    No idea...technically they shouldn't expire while the product is still in support...I think.
     
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Then what's the point of offering outdated software? Makes no sense...
     
  18. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I agree on that point and im not sure why kaspersky do it with oem versions.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.