Wmiadap.exe

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by WilliamP, Apr 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    This is one of the default protected exe's in System32. Everytime it executes it must change because it triggers execution protection to be allowed. Is everyone seeing this? It usually runs when the computer is is on and not being used.
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,053
    Hi WilliamP

    Try turning off error reporting as follows:

    Control Panel>System>Advanced>error reporting>disable For windows XP


    also disable it via services.msc in :
    Control Panel>administrative tools>services

    That may help.

    Pete
     
  4. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Quest ,I had read what Microsoft had to say and didn't understand a thing. So I did what Peter said and turned it off. Thanks guys for the help.
     
  5. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, WilliamP

    Yes I understand what you mean, they could make it a bit easier to understand, turning of error reporting as Peter2150 says does the trick.

    The reason I did not know as to why it keep running is because I have it turn off already along with 30 other not need services.

    Glad you have it sorted anyway.
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  6. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Thank you Quest. I have another exe that has to be allowed about once a day. That is wmiprvse.exe. I have researched it and it seems to indicate a possible problem. Of course I'm not sure. Microsoft can make their info. hard to understand.
     
  7. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
  8. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Thank you Quest . That web site is the one I use to find out what everything is.It is very helpful.
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,053
    I have allowed wmiprvse.exe to run. I think it needs to be allowed checksum wise. As far as regular protection, I haven't even added it to the list. Don't see the need. Tell me if you think me wrong.
     
  10. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    As far as wmiprvse.exe I also allow it. I did what was advised to delete or disable error reporting to take care of wmiadap.exe. Since I did, neither one has popped up. Maybe one was triggering the other. I don't really care if they run except that I would get up in the morning thinking it was on screen saver but it would be locked on the PG allow screen.
     
  11. devinb

    devinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Albany, New York
    thanks guys for this i just got to restart and see if it comes up the main problem with me was that it kept slowing down my computer taking up like 100,000k of my virtul memory if that doesnt work il be back time to reboot
     
  12. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    My problems have gone away . Hopefully yours will also.
     
  13. devinb

    devinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Albany, New York
    i ****ing hate this **** does anyone know how to delete this its pissing me off now its taking up like 130k of my memory ahhhhhhhhhhhhh
    i tryied everything on here
     
  14. devinb

    devinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Albany, New York
    ahh help... if anyone knows anything how do you delete this
     
  15. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
  16. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
  17. devinb

    devinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Albany, New York
    alright ill try that but i did try those 2 other programs and on this ite and they diddnt help soo....yeah
     
  18. devinb

    devinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Albany, New York
    nothing is working they wont reply to what i write it still runs in my background at 15,000 k but my virtul memory is 305,432 out of 395,742 and when i get rid of it on excendent it goes back down to 90,000 out of 395,742
    so i donno this thing is really starting to piss me off
     
  19. devinb

    devinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Albany, New York
    tell me that isnt <snipped>
    Uploaded picture and snipped some bad language.
    I understand your frustration, but try to stay calm and civil.

    Pieter
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 28, 2004
  20. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Looks like you have a problem.

    Snapdragin has pointed out to me that:

    http://www.doxdesk.com/parasite/ShopNav.html

    HTH Pilli
     
  21. devinb

    devinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Albany, New York
    alright man thanks im currently at school right now but ill try it if i go home sometime ...anything else that shouldnt be there plesae tell me thasnk
     
  22. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
  23. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
  24. devinb

    devinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Albany, New York
    is anyof these things supposed to get rid of wmiadap cause ive done everything on here and it still runs slow
     
  25. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    See the post above yours and then come back :)

    Did you disable error reporting ? You can disable some more services, but first make sure you are clean and we can help.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.