Without mouse... PG takes over PC

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by rodsoto, Oct 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rodsoto

    rodsoto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Posts:
    77
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi all,

    Just installed PG on another system, but the mouse I had was broken...to my dismay I couldn't select by pressing TAB or spacebar in PG which usually highlights different buttons in programs..... anyone know what i mean?

    For example... Pressing ALT+N usually hits the 'next' button....spacebar presses the button you're on, and tab flicks between the buttons on the current window...

    Was wondering if others have this problem?
     
  2. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Yes this is by design at the moment, it is easier for trojans and malware in general to send key presses than it is to move the mouse to the required locations. We are thinking about adding it for the final version, but there is no guarantee.
     
  3. rodsoto

    rodsoto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Posts:
    77
    Location:
    Australia
    Of course, never thought about it from that point of view, hehe thats ok then, will just need to get a mouse :)

    Kind Regards
     
  4. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    I'd hope for some method of keyboard control too - blocking the mouse driver global hooks with PG can result in the mouse cursor disappearing leaving the keyboard as the only means of control. Perhaps requiring Human ID for confirmation of any keyboard-based changes would be a safe option?
     
  5. Andreas1

    Andreas1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Mainz (Ger)
    there is something in the works that might cover HID prompts for "internal" functions. Let's wait and see how it works out and if it might make keyboard shortcuts more attractive/secure an option. (I'm also a big fan of keyboard control - for ergonomic reasons this time.)

    Andreas
     
  6. rodsoto

    rodsoto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Posts:
    77
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm also a fan of keyboard shortcuts...little quicker that way, if the DCS team can find a way to use keyboard shortcuts, that'd be great!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.