With KIS do I need SSM?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by acr1965, Feb 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I just downloaded Kapersky to give its security suite a whirl and noticed that the suite includes Intrusion Detection and a number of protections under its "Proactive Defense": Application Activity Analyzer, Application Integrity Control, Registry Guard and Office Guard.

    Does anyone run a HIPS program with KIS? It may seem a bit of overkill. I have SSM and am pretty happy with it but I am really liking this Kaspersky set-up.

    BTW- I just noticed that after a scan KIS just put SSM into quarantine as "possibly infected" which I am assuming is some sort of false positive.
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    If you think the Proactive Defense Module (PDM) provides enough protection, then use it and not SSM. if u want more protection, then use SSM and not PDM.
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    One HUGE advantage of SSM over KIS Pdm is learning mode. Technically PDM is excellent, but it will drive you nuts.
     
  4. Someguy

    Someguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Looking to try KAV, does PDM control network/internet access? How good is it in detecting outbound malware and keyloggers?

    Did anyone try to run PDM with DSA, which I believe is a more lightweight SSM?

    Thanks, all.
     
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK so I assume that KAV and SSM Pro are fully compatible ? I´m still looking for a good signature based anti-malware tool and KAV does look cool, but it must not conflict with my other tools (ZA Pro, SSM Pro, Neoava Guard), of course my system must not become slower either. AntiVir played well together, but I don´t like certain things about AntiVir. Btw, I´m not sure if SSM Pro is more advanced than KAV´s PDM, but I´m sure they would complement each other. :)
     
  6. egghead

    egghead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, running without problems on my rig.

    KAV>proactive defense: I have disabled Application Activity
    Analyzer and Application Integrity Control> no 2 drivers in one car.

    NB there is no SSM pro; there is a free and a paid version.

    I'm running without problems:D:

    *firewalled router
    *KAV 6
    *SSM paid
    *LookNStop (for outbound control only)
     
  7. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    @someguy - no, PDM does not control network/internet access.
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    antihacker in kis6.0 controls network traffic both ways thou
    lodore
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.