wireless security, WEP or WPA?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Bobz, May 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bobz

    Bobz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    hi, i bought a Linksys Wireless 4 port Router - (WRT54GS)
    and i would like to know if i should use WEP or WPA in the Security settings.


    thank you
    Bob
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  3. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Re: wireles seurity, WEP or WPA?

    If my memory serves me, WEP has been cracked. WPA with a minimal 20 character randomly generated password, 62 character is preferred. It has also yet to be cracked.
     
  4. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
  5. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Re: wireles seurity, WEP or WPA?


    There are password managers (Robo-form being one, I do not use it but have friends that do) that have the ability to generate them as well.
    Thanks for the correction on the 63.....can never remember that. :rolleyes:
     
  6. HelpFromFrance

    HelpFromFrance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    283
    Re: wireles seurity, WEP or WPA?

    Thanks for the info, I have been wanting to do this but was a little afraid to try it. I did try it and I could not use 63 but 62 characters in my password. I don't think that one will make that much difference :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

    Thanks again & have a good day,
    HelpFromFrance
     
  7. Bobz

    Bobz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Re: wireles seurity, WEP or WPA?

    is the WPA-2 Shared Key where the Password goes?

    for WPA Algorithms i have a choice off TKIP+AES or AES, which should i choose?


    thhanks
     
  8. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
  9. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    Re: wireles seurity, WEP or WPA?

    I think if my memory serves me correctly, that AES only has the least amount of overhead since it is hardware driven encryption instead of software like TKIP. So I would go for AES, if all of your devices support it. Again, trying to recall from memory, I think the TKIP-AES mode is to support NICS that can't do AES encryption, so go for AES if you can.

    Alphalutra1
     
  10. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Re: wireles seurity, WEP or WPA?

    Take a look at this: TKIP vs AES
     
  11. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    Re: wireles seurity, WEP or WPA?

    Man I had a good guess :D

    Alphalutra1
     
  12. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Re: wireles seurity, WEP or WPA?

    It seems so... :D
     
  13. Bobz

    Bobz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Re: wireles seurity, WEP or WPA?

    ok now how can i fix this....
    i set the router up for WPA-2 with the 63 random ASCII character key but, when i went to my laptop i found out it only supports WPA, so...
    i went back to my router and set it on WPA but it won't old it.
    i clicked on the drop down and select WPAa but as soon as i let go of the mouse button it changes o WPA-2.

    how can i fix this?

    thank you
     
  14. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Re: wireles seurity, WEP or WPA?

    Hi, bobz

    UI can not help with your Linksys Wireless, as I use a different product make of router.

    But I would just like to add, as added Secutity make sure you change the default SSID Name and Disable broadcasting of your SSID also only give the SSID to trusted People.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  15. Bobz

    Bobz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Re: wireles seurity, WEP or WPA?

    ok, i tried upgrading the firmware but that didn't change anything so i reset the router which i could have done the first time :)
     
  16. Bobz

    Bobz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Re: wireles seurity, WEP or WPA?

    thank you all for the Advice and Tips, i really appreciate it.


    Bob
     
  17. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    Re: wireles seurity, WEP or WPA?



    I would recommend not taking this measure. It doesn't actually hide your Access Point. Any person can easily find it by using an app like netstumbler. I do however, recommend you change your access points name, and make the signal be set at frequency 1 or 11, to minimize conflict with other signals. As long as you implement WPA, then MAC filtering and hiding your SSID is worthless, and only creates connectivity problems in the future ;)

    Cheers,
    Alphalutra1
     
  18. Bobz

    Bobz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    "make the signal be set at frequency 1 or 11" do you mean change the channel?
     
  19. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    Yes, sorry, the word was on the tip of my tongue and I couldn't remember it ;)

    Alphalutra1
     
  20. Bobz

    Bobz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    np thanks :)

    i see you have the same router that i'm using, but what is the advantage of that firmware?
    "WRT54G w/ Thibor v.14 firmware"
     
  21. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Alphalutra1

    You have said that twice now.

    Why not and why worthless.


    How does it cause problems.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  22. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    Lets think about it this way in the metaphor of a house on the street at night:

    You decide to turn off your lights("Disable your SSID from being broadcasted") to make your house more secure. You still have an alarm system and a lock that makes it impossible to enter the home, so disabling the light only makes it so that people driving by don't see your home unless they look hard enough(which isn't very hard to do).

    So now, you feel better since people can't see your home as easily, even though your home was impenetrable before.

    Now, you tell your friend (a new computer in the network) the pass to your alarm and give him or her the key, so they can enter the house (network). However, they drive by and don't see the house, or they have troubles finding the house and the door to enter it since the area isn't illuminated by the lights(connectivity problems). See the dilemma?

    That should cover why hiding your SSID is a "tinfoil" approach to security. I now that my game adapter for my ps2 couldn't connect to the network when the signal was not broadcasted. The wireless security forum located at DSLR here has a wealth of info in the posts, and a very nice faq is located there.

    Cheers,

    Alphalutra1
     
  23. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
  24. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    All will (the default firmware is linux ;) ) except for version 5. The new model WRT54GL (L for linux), will as well.

    Alphalutra1
     
  25. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Alphalutra1

    Lets, if it makes you feel good. :cautious:
    So there no harm in make thing harder.
    Do you know anything that is 100% in securing a computer, other then the pulling the plug.
    As I said here:-
    They will have no problem.
    I do not know anything about Game adapters, just goes to show does makes it more secure. ;)

    But a Wireless card, USB adapter, etc with the SSID [of the none Broadcating] and Password will have no trouble connecting.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:

    PS: Nearly forgot because my is So Secure :rolleyes:. After pulling the plug, Also turn off anything doing Wireless Broadcating. :D
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2006
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.