Wiped graphics controller

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rainwalker, Aug 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Greetings....i installed an HP piece of sortware called My Display or something like that....well, i now have min. resolution and a 4 bit display. I am unable to do anything at all in Control Panal/Display.....the res and 4 bit will not change....the original driver SEEMS installed but ........i am unable to find the install cd that came with the computer so can't reinstall drivers from that....is there something short of downloading the driver that i can do to get things back as they should be?
     
  2. eniqmah

    eniqmah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    UserName

    Installed Hp software...what were you thinking....Anyways, have you tried to uninstalling the software?
     
  3. ravin

    ravin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Posts:
    241
    Location:
    South Carolina
    you could restart computer tapping the F8 key and choose Last known good configuration. might work.
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    have you tryed uninstalling the software.
    then right clicking on my computer, properties,hardware tab.
    device manager.
    right click on your display adaptor then click on properties.
    there should be an option to rollback driver.
    this should restore the old driver that worked.
    lodore
     
  5. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks all....the first thing i did was to remove and reboot the bloody thing....then driver rollback and that showed no backup....then a basic system restore; about 4 attempts and nothing worked........F8 did not work...........a few minutes ago i did a basic system restore to about 10 days back........THAT WORKED .....i use GoBack and i know it sucks as it somethings works and sometimes does not work.....guess i better give in and get a better restore proggy......
    BTW.....i did know better about the HP stuff, but..........
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.