WinXP SP3 - should I get it?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by bellgamin, May 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I have kept WinXP regularly patched. Accordingly, it is my understanding that SP3 doesn't have much in the way of *new stuff* for those in my situation. Am I correct in this assumption?

    If I do decide to get SP3, is there a website where I can download it using Firefox as my browser?

    Any & all help will be VERY much appreciated.
     
  2. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,143
    i have the same problem
    i have my xp sp2 with the last update
    today the updater told me there is the sp3 to download 350 mb

    but i 'm not sure install or not install

    which kind of new features does it add?
    i 'm scarry that i have to re-install all my drivers
    or many program could stop to work
     
  3. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    I just installed it via Windows Updates.
    Was planning to do so in a couple of months, when any possible issue would have been addressed. But I had nothing to do and got curious.

    Been on SP3 for about 20 minutes now. So far, this is what I can report:

    -on reboot, I had to set again if I wanted Automatic Updates or not.
    -Security Center was activated again (I had it disabled), and there was that little red icon saying I don't have an AV and Automatic Updates are disabled. Disabled Security Center ASAP.
    -It placed a IE shortcut on my quick start tray.
    -MSN messenger went to some sort of install process when I opened it.
    -IE's memory usage is bigger than Firefox (54MB IE; 43 MB firefox)

    I don't see anything else worth mentioning. Resource usage is the same as before (except wit IE, which is huge now).

    If you have the latest security patches, I see no added value with SP3.
     
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,696
    Hello,
    I suggest:
    You make an image or two before installing.
    Wait at least a month until all the bugs and problems are ironed out.
    Mrk
     
  5. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Would think the main value of SP3 is either to use it for a new or repair install-saves downloading 300mb or so of updates.

    Otherwise there is really no need to install it,as long as MS maintains support for SP2.
     
  6. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I just downloaded it from majorgeeks and slipstreamed it into my xp sp2 disk.
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,143
    is there a tutorial to apply to a copy of a origial legit cd (xp pro sp2)
     
  8. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi there,

    I think if that had been the case (your assumption) Microsoft would have made it an optional update, and certainly not run the risk of creating new conflicts or disabling drivers. I've kept my XP updated, just finished downloading SP3 without any problems.

    It took 40 minutes, and it certainly downloaded a lot of stuff to a computer that was perfectly updated (I took an image of the OS, just in case).

    So far everything is working fine, there doesn't seem to be any obvious changes.
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Good counsel all around. Thanks to all. :thumb:

    Per someone's comments re Major Geeks I was able to download SP3 from HERE using Firefox.

    Before installing SP3, I shall prepare myself for Microsoft's usual "final release" of any software by...
    (1) doing a full image of my systems drive
    (2) bending over, and
    (3) grabbing both of my ankles :argh:
     
  10. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    If you do install SP3, use crap cleaner to remove the obselete hot fixe install files that are now part of SP3, saved hundreds of megabytes on my machine.

    The installer is smart enough to only updates what needs updating (rather than copying everything over), one of the reasons it takes so long is the gathering of the information of what fixes you have installed.

    Not had a single problem, nor seen any performance improvements either (on my 800mhz laptop or my 3.2ghz works machine).
     
  11. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Dang. Wish I'd read that before installing SP3. (Which appears to running well. IE7 only using 20M in task manager. Was/am confused about the Messenger update, since it's disabled.)
    I've just now checked the Windows hotfix capacity in Ccleaner, 309Mb.
    Is there an easy way to know if it's safe or recommended to remove these uninstallers now,( or to be more specific, are the uninstallers there for old hotfixes-now incorporated, or will they pertain to the current installation, in all or part?) or is it too late for that action.
    I'd hate to lose the ability to uninstall these, though I've never used it so far.
     
  12. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    The hotfix uninstallers are safe to remove once you have SP3 on as the are incorperated into sp3 - which stores a cache of the files in
    Code:
    %windir%\ServicePackFiles
    .

    You can't remove the actual hotfixes as they are part of SP3, so you would nee to remove SP3 first (if its possible) and then the hotfixes.
     
  13. Green Giant

    Green Giant Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    252
    I have just installed SP3 from Windows Update, where it appears as an urgent item. Using RegVac (registry cleaner from www.superwin.com) afterwards, I removed about 140 redundant items from the registry. After that I compacted the registry, which had only been done yesterday, and saved about 1MB of space.
     
  14. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    For some reason CCleaner did not delte the uninstall directory for SP3 so I had to do that manually. Don't know why it did not find those files.

    Gary
     
  15. glentrino2duo

    glentrino2duo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Posts:
    310
    I concur with Hairy Coo. If you install all updates and hotfixes, it's not really necessary, unless you are doing a fresh XPSP2 install (slipstream SP3 or right after XP install) and unless you want those little new features SP3 offers.
    I believe it's necessary only if you are on a Windows Server 2008 domain.

    For me, since I regulary update anyway, I'm withhelding SP3 installation even with clean install since it's not yet compatible with Super Turbo Tango Patcher by vertigosity. :)
     
  16. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,075
    Does anybody know if SP3 includes KB905474 which is the wga notification tool that is useless crap.
     
  17. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    I always choose orginal XP+SPx CD from Microsoft and use that. Now using SP3. I don't want to use Windows Update or manual SP3 installation at all.
     
  18. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Concerning safe folders in Windows XP directory to delete, would anyone know if the folder "$hf_mig$" (without quotes) is safe for me to delete. Just looks like a hotfix uninstall folder although not blue highlighted name like some others. Thanks.

    Gary
     
  19. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I always delete that folder plus any uninstall folders as well as files inside windows\softwaredistribution\download
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  21. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I would like to draw other members opinions as to my decision to not hastily run SP3 if ever.

    Would you consider a user bypassing it entirely or temporarily as not fully secured in light of the many security apps available that all but plug the dike of past, present, and future exploits on windows, or would you consider such a refusal foolhearty or gambling?

    I'm sorry, SP3 to me at this point just doesn't appeal to fit in as worthy of serious consideration for me.

    Am i being stubborn? Missing out on something crucial? Or is it such of an amazing update that no XP users should consider it of any REAL serious improvement?

    EASTER
     
  22. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,143
    but to get rid of the backup of the update
    what can i use?
    once i use crapcleaner , and after removing hotfix , i start to have errors in the xp log
     
  23. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    This doesn't really address the do-or-don't question, but ...

    If you've been keeping current with updates to SP2, then the SP3 download will be more like 60 or 70 megs. And if, like me, you do it through MS Update, for reasons I've never understood the "preparing to download" and "preparing to install" stages make up a big chunk of the time involved.

    Wish MS would fix that status bar so it actually works. Typically it doesn't move at all, and then suddenly I jump from supposedly downloading to verifying download. o_O
     
  24. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    I'm running SP RC V.3264, Ok at present.
    Should I uninstall it before installing the SP3 final?
     
  25. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,780
    Yeah, I saw that here too, but figured it was just my old machine. Interesting to see someone else with a faster machine mention the same thing.

    I installed SP3, but then wound up reverting to an image and losing it again. This time I think I will just leave it out. I don't really see the need for it, although I suppose there's no reason NOT to have it either... I don't much care either way I guess.....
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.