WinPatrol Oddities?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Carbonyl, Jul 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Carbonyl

Carbonyl Registered Member

Hi everyone,

I'm sorry if this is the wrong place to ask this, but my searches haven't turned up what might be considered the 'best' area to ask this question. My apologies if I shouldn't be asking it here!

I've been using WinPatrol for several months, and have been more or less happy with it. Lately, though, I've noticed a few very peculiar things when it comes to WinPatrol. Usually Scotty is quiet as a mouse, but in the last week I've seen WinPatrol pop up to warn me about files that have been sitting around on my computer for months.

First, it warned me that UserInit.exe was added as a startup item - It warned me about this out of nowhere. I wasn't installing software, browsing the web, or anything even remotely like that. It claimed that UserInit.exe was "first seen" on that day, even though the "last modified" date was months prior and I'm sure I've seen UserInit.exe run every single time I've started my computer up.

Then, this evening WinPatrol barked at NPSWF32_flashutil.exe, saying that NPSWF32_flashutil.exe was added as a "Single Run" item in the startup section. The only thing is, I haven't even futzed with Flash for weeks! I usually do a manual install of NPSWF32.dll in Opera anyway, and the only copy of NPSWF32.dll_flashutil.exe I could find was in my SysWOW64 directory under a Macromed subdirectory, which is months old. Why would Scotty bark about that now?

I did a full scan with NOD32, MBAM, HitMan Pro 3.5, SpyBot S&D, and Windows Defender. None of these tools found a single thing even remotely suspicious. I'm running Windows 7 x64, and I use Opera as a browser in Sandboxie.