Winpatrol and ask...Hell no

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by LoneWolf, Apr 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
  2. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
  3. pidbo

    pidbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Posts:
    198
    If it wasn't for Bill and those who share his philosophy and ethics, software would just become adware/renta-ware/on-our-server-you-dont-own-it-we-own-you-ware and the quality of internet experience that many by their efforts have worked to build over the years would be greatly diminished.
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i personally dont like tool bars and that is why i ditch comodo and ccleaner out of my pc's:)
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Yes, I have to agree. The bottom line is it's hard to resist the money, but that's what you have to do to stay out of the scam business.
     
  6. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    703
    You can download CCleaner without the toolbar, get the slim version, exactly the same without the toolbar. Available here:

    http://majorgeeks.com/download4191.html
     
  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i know but dont like the whole idea of a company that supports such tools(tool bars)
     
  8. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,128
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Thats why Bill is so cool!! and ask.com is not
    hurray for Bill!!
     
  9. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    Personally, I won't really mind if he decides one day to opt for a toolbar for additional revenue.. as long as it's NOT an Ask toolbar, considering the bad rep that said toolbar has.


    I really do admire Bill; prioritizing service over profit.
    It's hard to find such a person these days.
     
  10. BJStone

    BJStone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    You can't buy everything for money.
     
  11. BJStone

    BJStone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: Bill!
     
  12. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
  14. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,128
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Not in this lifetime..Bill cares about what is put on his and others pc
    that and any tool bar is crap plain and simple
     
  15. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    I agree. The problem is not with offering toolbars per say. It is specifically the ask.com toolbar because of their reputation for distributing the toolbar deceptively. I have never minded toolbar offers, such as Google, which are up-front and have a clear option to opt out. What is even better is an "opt in" option, where the user has to check the box instead of un-check it - hey, I can dream :)
     
  16. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    I think Bill should go for it, its not like he got an income like Symantec
     
  17. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Greece
    most of the times its ok to unistall ask toolbar without impact in the main program there is no problem with toolbars is just install unistall
    i have comodo without toolbar working perfectly
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.