Windowsupdate site acces

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by yvonh733, Apr 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yvonh733

    yvonh733 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    Hi, ever since I installed SB3 and applying the various tweaks...I cannot acces Windowsupdate. Here is the ERROR message that I get. Any help would be appreciated... o_O
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    Erreur Windows Update

    Windows Update a rencontré une erreur et ne peut pas afficher la page demandée.

    Sélectionnez l'une des pages suivantes pour obtenir des informations sur les services Windows Update ou envoyez-nous vos commentaires.

    Page d'accueil Windows Update
    À propos de Windows Update
    Informations sur le support

    Vous pouvez également bénéficier d'un support en ligne si vous rencontrez des problèmes avec Windows Update.

    Envoyer le numéro d'erreur à Microsoft (0x80070485)
    Remarque Ceci envoie des informations relatives à l'erreur mais ne crée pas un incident dans le cadre du support technique ; vous n'êtes pas assuré de recevoir une réponse.
    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  2. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yvon,

    For the sake of those who can't read French, here's the transaltion. Correct it if needed:

    Error in Windows Update

    Windows Update has encountered an error and can't show the page asked for.

    Select one of the following pages to get information in regard to our services or inform us your comments.

    Access Page Windows Update
    About Windows Update
    Infrmation about support

    You could benefit from the support online in case you do encounter problems with Windows Update.


    What follows if of no importance in this context.

    regards,

    paul
     
  3. yvonh733

    yvonh733 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    Tx Paul :D
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    SpywareBlaster shouldn't be able to conflict with WindowsUpdate - have you installed anything else recently?

    Thanks,

    -Javacool
     
  5. yvonh733

    yvonh733 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    14
    Tx Javacool,

    I currently run Win98SE, IE6sp1, Kerio PF, Ad-Aware, Antivir, AVG, Ez Armor, CWShredder, Hpguru Hosts file, HijackThis, IE-Spyad, MRU-Blaster, SpywareBlater, SpywareGuard, RegProt, GoogleToolBar

    Last I installed was Ez Armor antivirus.

    o_O
     
  6. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yvon,

    My first guess is, you do have ActiveX disabled one way or the other. Please check - and if so, enable this in case of using Windows Update.

    regards.

    paul
     
  7. yvonh733

    yvonh733 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    14

    Tx Paul...but it was something else...

    In the HELP with Windowsupdate pages, I found this and it corrected my problem...
    ----------------------------------------
    Problem Description:
    You may receive error 0x80070485 when trying to access the Windows Update Site.

    This is due to a missing or corrupted cabinet.dll file


    Resolutions:
    Please reinstall the Windows Installer. (pour déinstaller...delete msiexec.exe)

    For Windows 98 and Windows Me

    Please install the InstMsiW.exe from
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...d8-c094-4255-b702-de3bb768148f&DisplayLang=en
    --------------------------------------------------
    This might help somebody else
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.