Windows XP Pro Stop Error on Shutdown - timntr.sys

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by RonnieJP, Aug 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RonnieJP

RonnieJP Registered Member

I am using Acronis True Image 8.0 build 889 on my Windows XP professional system. Recently, I've been getting stop error blue screens whan I try to shutdown Windows XP that reference this timntr.sys file. I even tried disabling the True Image Monitor from startup so it's not even running. I only get this error about 1 out of 10 times I shut down Windows, but it is very annoying. And it's not related to whether I use the program or not in a given session, it occurs randomly. Even though I've been using the program for many months, this problem only started recently. In fact, if I remember correctly, it may have started sometime after I installed the Acronis plug-in for Bart PE. I sent this support request to Acronis along with the generated minidump file, but just got the usual canned response to download the latest build. Has anyone seen this issue?

2. bobdat

bobdat Registered Member

I have experienced it as you stated. I no longer install TI8 on my hard drive. I just use my BartPE CD and boot CD's.

I reloaded a previously uncorrupted image which never had TI8 installed on it and I haven't had any stop errors or memory errors on restart or shutdown. Neither have I had any system errors in the Event Viewer.

My errors seem to be related to a conflict between TrueImage 8 and McAfee Virus Scan. I'm still trying to pin down some evidence of this conflict.

When I completely remove McAfee and leave TI8 on my drive there are no errors. As soon as I reinstall McAfee the errors return. McAfee runs fine as long as TI8 is not installed on my hard drive.

Last edited: Aug 6, 2005
  3. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello RonnieJP,

Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.