Windows XP Pro Activation Key

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MurrayW, Mar 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MurrayW

    MurrayW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    I want to create 2 identical computers (same hardware, motherboard, etc.). I have two licensed Windows XP Pro install discs and two Acronis True Image licenses. I have set up one computer with all the windows updates, XP tweaks and loaded software that I have multiple licenses for (Office, Norton AV) or free programs that do not need a license (Adobe, Spybot, AdAware, etc.).

    I can use True Image to clone the disk of computer 1 so I can use it in computer 2. My only question is how do I change the XP Pro product key on the 2nd computer so that it uses the 2nd license on computer 2 after cloning the disk from computer 1? These are 2 separate retail XP Pro installation disks, not a multiuser license with install disk

    I don't want to do a separate Windows XP Pro install because I spent several hours tweaking the computer to my liking and I would like each of them to be identical. The 2nd computer is going to be for my 80 yr old non-computer literate father-in-law that I will be managing for him using remote desktop protocol from 1000 miles away.

    thanks,

    Murray
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I don't know much about this method but you can check it out here
     
  3. jimmytop

    jimmytop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    USA
  4. MurrayW

    MurrayW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    It states that it is for the corporate version only, but I will give it a try. Has anyone else tried this method?

    Thanks for the quick reply!

    Murray
     
  5. MurrayW

    MurrayW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    10
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I just found this it would definatly be the easiest way to change the key here
     

    Attached Files:

  7. MurrayW

    MurrayW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Wow, you guys are great. Unless someone has another way that is faster than 3.38 seconds ;) , I'll do this.

    Thanks for all your help!

    Murray
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I hope it helps you out.

    bigc
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.