Windows XP Home repair install question...

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Mercurybird, May 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mercurybird

    Mercurybird Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Northeast Texas.
    I was trying out a password program that I downloaded. After installation was through, Windows told me that some crucial Windows files had been replaced. It said that if I didn't insert the CD and restore them that Windows could be unstable. But then it wouldn't recognize my Windows XP Home CD. No harm seems to have been done... but should I do an Install/Repair from the CD to make sure that all the files are put back as Windows original?

    Also, another reason I'm asking is, I dodn't want PG to somehow be confused as to what is real and what isn't. I have the PG registered version on its way and I want all my Windows files to be native Windows.

    Am I being too uptight about nothing here?

    Thanks! :doubt:
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Can you just run restore back to before you installed the password program o_O
     
  3. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    A full repair install should not be necessary. Simply insert the cd while in XP and open a run dialogue box(start - run) and type sfc/scannow then press enter. XP will replace any files that were there upon the original install from the CD. Would be wise to use a SP1 slipstream cd if you have SP1 installed as well. Hope that helps.

    Eliot :)
     
  4. Mercurybird

    Mercurybird Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Northeast Texas.
    I'm not running system restore since I run Ghost. But maybe I should rethink that! :)
     
  5. Mercurybird

    Mercurybird Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Northeast Texas.
    Wow that's one I hadn't heard of yet. Thanks, I'm going to look into that. I don't have the software to produce the slipstream CD, but I'm going to look around and see if someone will sell me one. :D
     
  6. Mercurybird

    Mercurybird Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Northeast Texas.
    Oops! I was only thinking of the SP1 part of it. I sure didn't mean to imply that I would accept a pirated copy of someone else's version of Windows XP. I have a friend who has the SP1 CD, I could run fsc/scannow, and then apply the SP! patch again if needed. Thanks Eliot!
     
  7. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Your welcome. I hope it works out for ya. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.