Windows XP built-in zip problem

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by adrianyujs, Dec 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Global Force

    Global Force Guest

    Relax, I'm not one to insinuate. :D;)

    GF
     
  2. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    So, I don't know what to do already. I want to format my PC, but don't have time, and I don't have any idea already, just extract all the file and delete the file I don't want. Very very tired if do like that.
     
  3. Global Force

    Global Force Guest

    I'll throw this out there because it's the only way I know how to narrow the field without experiencing your condition firsthand, and to let you know I'm still out on the web searching for answer's.

    If you open ClipBook Viewer (runbox - clipbrd) and go to the Edit tab, you'll have the ability to delete the content's of the Clipboard, do so. You may need to maximize it (lower left) for the option.

    I've located a technical page concerning how the clipboard handles data transfer and hopefully will have some new suggestion's. If in the meantime anyone has any information on this, please post ....

    "IT'S A SECURITY SITE FOR CRY'IN OUT LOUD!"


    GF
     
  4. Global Force

    Global Force Guest

    Maybe that would have sounded better .... "WE'D LOVE TO HEAR FROM YOU!" :D;)

    GF
     
  5. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Hello friend, I have test Clipboard Viewer in different method:-

    1) when i run clipbrd, and i copy an EXE file from compressed mode, and the Clipborad Viewer give this message: "Clipboard Viewer cannot display the information in its current format. To view the information, try pasting it into document". And I can delete the clipboard.

    2) Then i extract the file, and i copy the EXE file, and Windows Clipboard show the location of the file, like "C:\windows\desktop\as.exe". I also can delete the clipboard.

    What that means? Does opened compressed folder have setting to a certain location?
     
  6. testing to see if i can even do this without logging in...
     
  7. YAY...most forums wan you to register b4 they let you poast...anyway

    im having the same problem...i have lost the ability to drag ,copy,paist things from zip folders in XP ,this just started yesterday...i can drag ,copy/cut/paist things INTO zip folders fine but i cant get things out the same way...but i allways could before. i can drag the files out of zip folders when i open them with winrar or use the extraction wizard, but thats it. if i try to drag files from zip folders , nothing happens at all. if i try to copy/cut a file from a zip folder and paist it to the desktop or wherever i just get a DING warning noise and nothing els.

    like i sed it allways worked befor... please help me...i hate when crap quits working like this...

    my system is
    XP pro sp1/all M$ updates
    nod32 antivirrus,sygate firewall
    1GB ram 3.4GHz P4 CPU no OC
    120GB main boot drive 300GB secondary drive
     
  8. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Can anyone send this link to M$? Let them know is better and they will fix for us. Or maybe Service Pack 3(SP3) will fix this problem.
    Till now my problem haven't solve yet!!!

    My System:-
    - Windows XP Home SP2 + all update from M$ Site
    - 1.5GHz Intel Centrino
    - 752MB DDR RAM
    - 30GB Hard Disk
    - Zone Alarm Security Suite
    - ShadowUser Professional
     
  9. Global Force

    Global Force Guest

    Are you still with us CRT?

    GF
     
  10. Rooty

    Rooty Guest

    Alright, so I *just* started having this problem. I'm a big geek, so I'm comfortable doing just about anything you need me to.
     
  11. Rooty

    Rooty Guest

    Oh yeah, I can copy folders out, but anything inside of them doesn't copy.
     
  12. Global Force

    Global Force Guest

    Awright Rooty! :cool:

    I'll have my thought's together again tommorrow if you promise to return. Deal?


    GF
     
  13. Global Force

    Global Force Guest

    Who am I kidding, I'll be here anyway! :D

    Me :D
     
  14. Rooty

    Rooty Guest

    Yup, I'll be here. Don't even know how it started. I haven't installed anything in the last couple of days, I think.
     
  15. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    You think? Hey, leave the speculation's for me! :D ~jkg~ ;)

    Here you go .... I found Ramesh (again) posting a mid-December/05 suggestion for someone experiencing similar copy and paste difficulties who, unfortunately, failed to follow up. I have no idea what sort of result's to expect other than download the file and run it. Mine is attached.

    I'm going to also ask a favor from anyone posting as guest. When linking your image from an outside source such as ImageShack, you instead provide the link *to it* .... would be a big help. Thank's.


    GF
     

    Attached Files:

  16. rootyb

    rootyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    (went ahead and registered)

    Downloaded and ran that program. I got the same dialog box you posted. "Successfully opened and closed the clipboard. Does not appear to be any problems."

    I'm not an expert by any means, but it doesn't seem like just a clipboard issue to me (at least, not just a ctrl-c, ctrl-v clipboard issue). My reasoning is this: my problem isn't just with copy/pasting, it's also with dragging/dropping. Both of them act like nothing's happened (though, they usually give an hourglass for a brief moment).

    I'd say it's a problem with the temporary location that it's extracting the files to before it displays the folder's contents, but I can open .zip files, and double-click anything in there to open it. Just can't drag/drop it.

    Also, if it helps, the first time I noticed this problem, I was trying to drag/drop an entire folder out of a compressed file (that contained several files/folders within it). When I did so, it would create the folder in the new location, then two of its subfolders (out of maybe 8 or 9), then nothing else. No files in any of the folders, and none of the other folders.

    Fun fun fun!

    (btw, just tried to right-click on a zip file, and do "Extract all", which brings up the "Compressed (Zipped) Folders Extraction Wizard", which appears to work fine, extracting everything in the archive.
     
  17. Global Force

    Global Force Guest

    Then Welcome to Wilder's rootyb!

    Yeah, I don't think it's entirely clipboard either. I've managed to spend some time working with Regmon and Filemon trying to determine which files/access location's are brought into play .... tricky business determining filter option's and which entries are actually relevant. I can't help but think somewhere in the thick of all this ole32.dll and/or comdlg32.dll play a significant role. I'll post soon again with with what I hope will be some worthwhile information.


    GF
     
  18. rootyb

    rootyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Cool cool. Thanks for all your effort in this (even if I'm a latecomer). ;)
     
  19. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Hi! GF, how now?? I still haven't reformat my PC and still wondering you can fix the problem for me.
     
  20. rootyb

    rootyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    How now brown cow?

    Any ideas?
     
  21. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Any other problem that can cause windows zip problem? I think that is not temporary storage for opened zip problem. If windows booted in safe mode, can built-in zip work? I haven't try it, i just give example, because windows booted in safe mode, all the driver will not be loaded, so, it is something like that.
     
  22. Global Force

    Global Force Guest

    Sorry people,

    Due to current circumstances that I must tend to, please accept my temporary withdrawl.
    Hope to return shortly but can't say for sure, best wishes in the meantime. ;)


    GF
     
  23. rootyb

    rootyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    No worries, man. Hope everything you're dealing with turns out okay.
     
  24. rootyb

    rootyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Btw, just tried it in safe mode. No change in the problem. Still doesn't work.
     
  25. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    try on no problem zip windows zip. Not in windows zip already got problem.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.