Windows update

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by wshrugged, Jun 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    I've had nod32V3 installed for a short time.
    I tried to download from windows update (June security updates). Couldn't download-- got error:80072f78(windows code).Tried several times with hours between.
    Quickly tried download with Nod off---started working so I pulled internet connection.
    Added windows update to http excluded address.
    Retried windows update and it worked.
    Safe practice?
    Thank you
     
  2. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  3. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    never had problem here with windows update and i used nod32 since version 2.7

    IMO, adress exclusion is not safe.
     
  4. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    v2.7 didn't have the so-called "feature" in it.
     
  5. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    notification with v4, i know.

    Just talking about nod32 vs windows update web site, i never got problem since i used nod32.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    I think the feature is a good effort for those that are not aware that keeping your operating system patched helps keep malware away from your system.

    It is easily disabled.
     
  7. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Noted, Ron.
     
  8. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    Thank you for the interest. Had trouble with V3 and V4 of varying kinds- more with V4.
    Have gone back to 2.7...
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Perhaps the source of your "trouble" is a program conflict.
     
  10. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    Perhaps, but I've spent 10's of hours trying to figure it all out. I've flat out run out of time for now. V 2.7 has performed almost perfectly for me.
    Is the protection in 2.7 unable to handle today's threats?
    If you're a relatively safe user , does V2.7 provide you with more than adequate protection?
    Is the footprint and system resources used by 2.7 exceptional?
    Please will somebody honestly answer?
    I understand ESET's many workers have been trying to upgrade their product, I hope they succeed.
    I can comprehend the need to modernize and eventually that will be the case for me whether I use ESET or another Antiviral. It better be damn close to V2.7's excellence. Support better be top notch as well.
    Thank you for your consideration
     
  11. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    I had a problem with windows update when I first started using v3 last year. I couldn't get some updates to install while some of the updates would install. I disabled
    protection for potentially unsafe and unwanted applications and never had any problems with windows update after doing that.
     
  12. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    I would think you're opening yourself up too much with those settings. Where as if you put windows update in the excluded http option you're exposed only to that. This is regarding V3.

    Thanks
     
  13. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    That's possible but, my thinking was if nod would not let me install certain windows updates because it considered them potentially unsafe or unwanted then what else is it going to block me from installing in the future. I know what I install and I am a pretty good judge as to the nature of what I am installing. I dont want to turn my av off or try to make an exception every time I download and install a program. Would rather leave it turned on and have it only detect what it considers real malware in the setup.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.