Windows Update

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ErikAlbert, Sep 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    After my thread "Windows Activation", my story continues ... each step I do, seems to be a problem. Pffft.

    When I open this website, I get this message in the beginning, which sounds normal to me :
    After awhile, I get this message :
    Is the website "Windows Update" still working ? No matter what I do, it doesn't work. :)
    I use MS Internet Explorer version : 6.0.2900. Is that the problem ?
     
  2. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Just updated fine,but had to download latest activeX version because of new site page,just look upper side of the screen,i got e message in a yellow in order to work properly had to download latest activeX version. FYI used FireFox.
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,683
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    No problem here , but I don't think IE6 is the problem. However I do use IE7.0.5730.11.
     
  4. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    I've had the same problems before, and kept trying and eventually was given a "time-sync" erroro_O WTF does that meano_O My clock was off by 5-6 secs.o_O Turn on auto-updates and magically the problem disappeared, without re-setting the clocks!!! Chances are the servers are too busy (to slow) to load the results and they time outo_O Either that or try MicrosoftUpdate instead of WidowsUpdate, for faster patching.
     
  5. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    I have frequently had problems with the windows updaate site, and have never been able to work out why, I get my updates via the auto update facility set to inform my before downloading or installing. Rightly or wrongly, I have decided that it is some sort of ploy to force people to use auto update.
     
  6. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    All set to manual,no problems here.
     
  7. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah Huupi, funny you should say that, have just given it a try and it's working fine on my desktop, so my issue seems to be intermittant, amybe as someone else said I have just hit it a few times when the severs were too busy.
     
  8. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Could be worse! Last weekend they may have invalidated your copy of windows and given you the updates!
     
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Thanks guys, I guess the server is too busy.
    At Technet there is a big file that updates WinXPproSP2, which is normally for IT people only. Can I use that one ?
    Does this file know that certain patches are already installed and that I have SP2 already ?
     
  10. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    No wisdom,i'm just lucky and did update at the right time accidently i guess.
     
  11. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    Yes you can use that package. I can't answer your second question.
    You can also take a look here : http://blogs.microsoft.nl/tonykrijnen/archive/2007/01/18/9885.aspx
     
  12. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Erik, remember your questions on benefits of AutoPatcher? Well, I beleieve you have your answers now... ;)

    Cheers.
     
  13. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,361
    Hello,
    Manual checks every once in a while, no problem.
    BTW, since you do have imaging software, you should not worry too much Erik, even if you miss the updates by a few days or weeks. I have an XP scapegoat that runs for months without updates and it does not complain.
    Mrk
     
  14. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Which file? This?
     
  15. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Yes something like this. Will it hurt me, if I install this one, no matter what is already installed as winXP on my computer ?
     
  16. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Yes, I remember but I can't work with solutions that are terminated or will be terminated sooner or later. IMO terminating AP is just the beginning of Microsoft's new policy.
    I don't like Windows Update either, because I have to go on-line, the more I can install off-line, the cleaner my IMAGE will be.
    Software companies made it impossible to install your computer completely off-line.
     
  17. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    That file is SP2 for offline install. You don't need it, you already have SP2 slipstreamed in your XP CD.
     
  18. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Me too, I don't even remember my last Windows Update. My frozen snapshot doesn't allow any change, so I reboot always in the same system partition.
     
  19. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Well this file only has to add stuff that isn't installed yet. I guess I have to try it myself. :)
     
  20. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    (¿?)
    You've stated many times that you have an OEM Win XP SP2 CD. That file is SP2. You can use it to update a SP1/noSP XP installation or to build a Win XP SP2 CD.
     
  21. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Well my post was about a file on TECHNET, which is not the same as yours.
    I only need a file that updates my WinXPproSP2 with all the patches and ignores what is already installed.
     
  22. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Ohh, my mistake :)
    Perhaps you were talking about this file?
     
  23. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Something like that.
    I know that my original WinXPproSP2 isn't up-to-date and I bought it in March 2006. So there must have been alot of patches since then.
    I'm just looking for a file that brings my installed and activated WinXPproSP2 up-to-date as much as possible.
    If this file doesn't exist, I have to use Windows Update, but it doesn't work at this moment and it's not my favorite method either, because I have to go on-line.
    Frankly, I'm quite surprised that this file doesn't exist or is so hard to find at Microsoft's websites. I wouldn't like to install all these patches one-by-one. :)
     
  24. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    SP2 was released in August 2004. So, there are lots of patches.
    RyanVM Update Pack can be used to slipstream hotfixes to a XPSP2 CD.
    This file doesn't exist at Microsoft's website. That's why Autopatcher and others were created.
     
  25. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,683
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    It appears you've frozen out Microsoft.;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.