Windows Update history

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by ambient_88, Dec 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    Hello,

    I noticed after restoring an archive that my Windows Update history is gone. Does that mean FD-ISR failed to copy the contents? Or maybe it corrupted the database? Can anyone confirm if this is normal behavior or not.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    I would say it's not normal behavior. But exactly what do you mean?

    Pete
     
  3. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    It's exactly what I said. The Windows Update history suddenly disappeared, although the service still knows that I am up-to-date. The patches are still there, just the history that is gone.

    My problem is similar to this thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=188915&highlight=Windows Update

    I would've replied there, but the system says it too old.


    Thanks!
     
  4. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    So, has anyone else experienced this kind of problem?
     
  5. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    One guess: fd-isr does NOT copy .tmp files; are Windows Updates initially, at least in the beginning, kept in the .tmp files? I don't know, just guessing here.

    Acadia
     
  6. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    I believe the history is kept in the SoftwareDistribution/DataStore folder. The history gone is no big deal since Windows Update doesn't use that to determine whether I need an update or not. What worries me is that it might not be copying all of my files (except the .tmp and System Restore data), which wouldn't be so good.
     
  7. mrduke

    mrduke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I am the poster from the first thread about this. I find that those SoftwareDistribution folders are a completely different size after making a new snapshot. FDISR for some reason must not copy these folders and Windows remakes them when they are missing, maybe. This is a a Vista OS. I was under the impression that FDISR made an exact copy of the original. Any explanations?

    Duke
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.