Windows toolbar flickering after installing NOD32 v.4

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by arek1, Mar 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. arek1

    arek1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Hi All,

    After clean install of NOD32 v.4 on my computer Windows toolbar start flickering. I have set autohiding Windows toolbar and randomly every 5-30 seconds toolbar is apearing for moment. After uninstalled NOD32 all is OK. Does anybody know solution?

    My system:
    NOD32 4.0.314.0
    Win Vista Business SP1

    Best wishes
    ArekS
     
  2. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
  3. arek1

    arek1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Upsss... I not found this threats but yes still now solution on all three threats. I hope NOD team have knowledge about this error. I think this error is connected with Aero theme.

    Best wishes
    ArekS
     
  4. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    I also thought it was Aero, as I have Aero disabled and I wasn't seeing it.

    But I am now....

    I don't have the taskbar auto-hidden, it's visible all the time, and I'm using "classic" theme with most of the pointless Windows services disabled (Theme manager, help center etc). Now today I see a small window flashing periodically, just by the ESET icon. Nothing else down there does it, and nothing else is new software, just ESET. So it could be linked.


    Jim
     
  5. boesdad

    boesdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Posts:
    65
    I am running Vista (64 bit)

    found this a while back and
    it works for me

    right click on start button and select properities

    click on notification tab

    put a check mark to always show network icon
     
  6. arek1

    arek1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I have this checked mark all the time but blinking is still there :(
    Thank you for tip.
     
  7. boesdad

    boesdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Posts:
    65
    maybe it has something to do with taskbar appearance..
    under taskbar, I have the following checked:

    lock the taskbar

    autohide the taskbar

    keep taskbar on top of other windows

    group similat taskbar buttons
     
  8. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    I have:

    Lock - ticked
    Auto-hide - unticked
    Keep on top - ticked
    Group similar - unticked
    Show Quick launch - ticked
    Show window previews - unticked (disabled, as I have Aero disabled)

    I'm only seeing the window periodically, and it's too quick to read.



    Jim
     
  9. arek1

    arek1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I was setting according you and still flickering occour.


    It is strange because when I untick auto-hide filckering go away. It is only when Auto-hide is on.
     
  10. legmig

    legmig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I have it on all Vista machines I tried (like 4). All are 32 bit Business with Aero. It's not a driver issue; I have Nvidia, Ati and Intel. It's just that the hidden bar is shown for the fraction of a second. Probably some bad coding to suppress a message or modify the icon, though it happens even when I have all the (sorry) idiotic "effect" stuff in the NOD options.
     
  11. mikeblas

    mikeblas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    I have the same problem. I've found a few threads here about it, but no acknowledgement from ESET and no suggestions for fixing it.

    Are ya'll using 4.0.417, or 4.0.314? I see the OP has 314, which is what I'm using, too. Does 417 fix the issue?
     
  12. mikeblas

    mikeblas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    I installed 4.0.314 and that didn't help. Has anyone heard from ESET regarding this issue?
     
  13. mikeblas

    mikeblas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    I contacted support about this issue, and the reply I received indicated I should uninstall and re-install NOD32. I did that, and of course it made no change in the symptoms.

    Has anyone received an acknowledgment from ESET about the problem, or found a solution?
     
  14. e36

    e36 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    ...canned response.

    It's the same thing they sent me for an entirely different issue.
     
  15. mikeblas

    mikeblas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Yeah. It's a little insulting. They followed up with a request that I uninstall to see if the problem really is NOD32, and asking for links to the forum topics about the issue. Apparently, they're not aware of the problem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.