Windows service pack 3 questions

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, Dec 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I am making an nLite CD of XP. Thinking to add service pack 3. Is it a good idea? Any problems I might encounter with service pack3?

    Also if I add service pack3 do I need to add service pack 1 and 2 also in NLite CD.

    Thanks
     
  2. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    aigle,

    When I created a slip-streamed CD using nLite, I included SP3 and it has worked fine for several installs.

    No, you do not need to include SPs 1 or 2 since it is all included in SP3.
     
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks a lot.
     
  4. mjgent

    mjgent Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Sandboxed in a VM behind a UTM
    Yep, same process here and no problems.:thumb:
     
  5. Mapson

    Mapson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    54
  6. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Are you sure sp1 is included? To install sp3 inside windows requires a minimum of sp1 and i've read that microsoft recommend installing sp2 before sp3. Maybe slipstreaming is different, i really don't know.
     
  7. mjgent

    mjgent Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Sandboxed in a VM behind a UTM
    Just to clarify, I used XP Pro SP2 disk to start. I haven't tried it with an RC2 or SP1 disk.
     
  8. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    farmerlee,

    I think you may be right (i.e., minimum of SP1 is needed). I slipstreamed starting with SP1.

    aigle,

    Sorry if I provided you with misinformation (I was typing faster than I was thinking). To be safe: Assuming you're starting with XP without any service packs, use this and slipstream in SP1, then use that and slipstream in SP2, and then use that and slipstream in SP3 and you should be good to go.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2008
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    But nLite itself says something else. I am confused now.

    Anyone expert about nLite etc?
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.