Windows Security Alert Vista NOD32 3.0.642.0

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by ChickC, Feb 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ChickC

    ChickC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Proudly, one of the, "Blue States" CT
    I just installed NOD 32 Virus on a new computer with Vista SP1 RTM installed.

    I am getting a message from Windows Security Center that NOD32 Virus is reporting it's status in a format no longer supported. I assume this will become common once Vista SP1 is released to the general public in the near future.

    Is there a way around this problem and id ESET working on a solution for release shortly?
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    May you post a screenshot ?

    I know that in SP1 for Vista Microsoft is introducing new much more secure way for the vendors to make the security softwares communicate with the Security Center , this might be the problem here
     
  3. ChickC

    ChickC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Proudly, one of the, "Blue States" CT
    Sorry I temporarily have no place to host an image and cannot see a way to upload it directly, but I have described the message accurately.
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    We have tested it here with Vista SP1 and didn't find any problems. A screenhost would be appriaceted.
     
  6. curiousmicrobe

    curiousmicrobe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Posts:
    32
    Tested EAV and ESS on Windows Vista SP1 Final - Virtual Machine Machine. Both products are flawless here.
     
  7. ChickC

    ChickC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Proudly, one of the, "Blue States" CT
    Thanks for the link to post screen shots.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. ChickC

    ChickC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Proudly, one of the, "Blue States" CT
    Just curios why I have not heard anything from the people who asked for a screen shot. Especially anyone who is running this same version on Vista SP1 RTM version without problems. Quite possibly I am over reacting, but I got the feeling that you doubted the truth of what I was reporting!

    Any input would be appreciated.
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    ChickC ,

    I asked you for a screenshot so that ESET can see what are you talking about .

    I have no idea what exactly causes your problem but you can try this :

    1. Download fresh new version of ESET product
    http://www.eset.com/download
    Make sure that you choose the correct version.

    2. Uninstall your current version from Control Panel
    3. Reboot the computer when prompted
    4. Delete manually these folders (if exist):

    - C:\Program files\ESET
    - C:\Users\~username~\AppData\Local\Eset
    - C:\Users\~username~\AppData\Roaming\Eset

    5. Perform this suggestion (steps 1 to 8 ) by mayt

    6. Reinstall your ESET Antivirus using the file you downloaded in step1 . Use typical install.


    Report back the results!
     
  10. ChickC

    ChickC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Proudly, one of the, "Blue States" CT
    Hi Tech,
    Thanks for you help. I followed all your instructions and nothing has changed. I am still getting the same message. I can only stress that Nod32 was the first program installed on a new machine fresh out of the box with factory installed Vista Ultimate SP1 RTM, not a release candidate, Beta or run on a virtual machine.

    I guess once Microsoft finally releases SP1 to the general public I'll see if My problem is unique or not and if any action is forthcoming from ESET.

    Thanks again for your help and advice.
     
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hi again!

    ESET claim to have tested even their December versions for compatibility with Server 2008 and the new SPs and they are support to work .

    Since you have the RTM version of Vista SP1 , this is a problem . Please , contact your local support office or send email to support@eset.com
     
  12. ChickC

    ChickC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Proudly, one of the, "Blue States" CT
    Thanks Again, Reported to ESET
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.