Windows Search is broken after ATI2009 Home Install

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by TKruzze, Jul 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TKruzze

    TKruzze Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I just installed the latest version of Acronis True Image Home 2009 (#9796) and I immediately noticed that it disables Windows Search 4.0 on my Windows XP Pro (x86) system. I then tried the install 2 separate time on a VM and had the same problem. Since this has now occurred on 2 completely separate systems I am assuming that it's not specific to my configuration. Can anyone else confirm that their Windows Search has ceased to function after installation of build #9796?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello TKruzze,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image Home 2009!

    Windows Search is disabled after Acronis True Image Home 2009 is installed because these two programs have some compatibility issues. Acronis True Image Home 2009 creates a virtual device "Acronis True Image Backup Archive explorer" that allows to explore .tib files in explorer like normal folders. Windows Search fails when searching in .tib files like in folders.

    You can remove Acronis True Image Backup Archive Explorer if it prevents you from normal Windows Search usage:
    1622: Removing Acronis True Image Backup Archive Explorer

    Thank you.
    Daniel Pustovoy
     
  3. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Where can I get more details about this ATI 2009 and Windows Search incompatibility? I recently installed ATI 2009 and if I recall correctly, Windows Search 4.0 continued to work OK.

    Had I known about an incompatibility, I probably would not have purchased the software.


    Thanks
    -WD
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Surely if your system is working OK, you don't have a problem?

    Though I suppose there is the possibility it might break at a later date due to an upgrade of some kind.
     
  5. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Well, I've got a problem where Acronis crashes when trying to install the Startup Recovery Manager. But that is apparently a different issue altogether.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=248787

    Windows Search worked, from what I remember. Which is why I'm curious about Daniel's statement about there being a (known?) incompatibility issue with ATI 2009 and Windows Search. I mean, it's listed right in the user manual that ATI hooks into both Windows Search and Google Desktop! Maybe there's just a language barrier here or something.

    But I'd like to know for sure...


    12.2 Google Desktop and Windows Search integration
    Acronis True Image Home has plug-ins for Google Desktop and Windows Search (WDS). If
    you use any of these search engines on your computer, then during the first start after
    installation Acronis True Image Home will detect the search engine you use and will install
    an appropriate plug-in for indexing your tib backup archives. Indexing of backups will speed
    up searches in the backup archives. After such indexing you will be able to search archives
    content by entering a file name into the Google Desktop or Windows Search deskbar query field without opening Acronis True Image Home.
     
  6. TKruzze

    TKruzze Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you for the response. I have never had any problems using Acronis TI Home 2009 until version 9796. Windows Search is a very important part of my computing day. I think the question above is a legitimate one. Where is the disclosure or information on this problem?

    Is it just this latest version (#9796) that's incompatible with Windows Search or has the problem been present in prior versions? If so, it may be necessary for me to find another product to use.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.