Windows Recovery Console question

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by calvin2s, Dec 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. calvin2s

    calvin2s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    After POST of my pc, the following comes up:

    Boot from CD...

    Press any key to boot fom CD...
    Starting Acronis Loader...
    Press F11 for Acrtonis Startup Recovery Manager...

    Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    Microsoft Windows Recovery Console
    Safe Mode

    When I choose Recovery Console from the boot menu, monitor goes black and nothing happens.

    Is Acronis True Image Home version 11(build 8,101) Loader preventing or disabling Recovery Console?

    If so, what do I do to eliminate that?

    Thanks for any help. I know you are busy.

    Sincerely

    calvin2s
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Does the Safe Mode option for Windows boot okay?

    Have you verified the RC entry in the boot.ini file is correct? It should be something like this:
    Code:
    C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows Recovery Console" /cmdcons
    Did you do a restore of the Windows partition before this problem happened or did you just activate the ASRM?
     
  3. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Calvin, those here are ususally not too busy to help.

    It sounds like you have left the CD in the drive. Are you trying to boot from the CD or do you just want to boot the computer normally?

    Recovery console is part of Windows XP, not an Acronis program. Your recovery console may need reinstalled - if you really want recovery console, you can reinstall that using "c:\i386\winnt32 /cmdcons" from the run line if you have c:\i386 folder on your computere OR by booting with your windows setup CD.
     
  4. calvin2s

    calvin2s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    You guys are awesome!

    Even though my RC entry in the boot.ini file is as you quoted:
    C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows Recovery Console" /cmdcons , I tried your "c:\i386\winnt32 /cmdcons" idea.

    Interestingly, if I use my XP Pro SP2 setup CD, it reports that my version of Windows has changed and does not allow access to c:\i386.

    However, with a slipstreamed installation CD made using the recipe at http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/xpsp3_slipstream.asp with SP3 slipstreamed onto it, RC did reinstall as a startup option and now launches if selected from the boot menu.

    So apparently installing the SP3 update caused the problem.
    Is this the type of thing that drives people to Apple?

    Thanks again guys!
     
  5. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Cool! Now you are awesome too Calvin... I have the same annoyance of black screen with WRC (winnt32 /cmdcons gives me message it is out of date windows) and had lost track of how I fixed it after SP2 went in - of course, a new slipstreamed install CD is the solution I need and you gave me the link to take care of that chore over the holiday. Thanks!:thumb:
     
  6. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I had a recent experience whereby The Recovery Console would not start. Running XP Pro with SP3 and no problems related to sp3. The RC functioned very well. My disk configuration for my system disk was 1 Primary (system) & 2 Logicals (both data).

    In doing some testing, I restored an old backup but changed the partition structure so instead of having the above, the logicals were changed to primaries. I subsequently found that this partition change caused the RC to cease to open. After several trial & error methods of repairing, I found the only correction that got the RC to become functional again was to restore my system back to its original partition arrangement. I did not have a sp3 slipstreamed CD so that was not tried.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.