Windows Readyboost

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Eagle Creek, Apr 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eagle Creek

    Eagle Creek Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi!

    Anyone here got experience with Vista's feature 'Readyboost'? It's supposed to speed up your PC since it uses a fast USB stick over a slow hard drive when pagefile information needs to be accessed.

    I like the idea behind it but..
    1. I don't experience any difference, not even when I'm stressing my computer.
    2. My USB sticks are randomly qualified and disqualified as "Readyboost Capable". Even when I've used a certain stick on a certain PC, there's a change the next time I connect (or only reboot the machine) Vista tells me the stick is not RB capable.
    3. Microsoft says you should be able to pull out the stick any time without data loss. They say that all the data on the stick is also being backed up on the hard disk. But if it's writing to two locations you would think it could cause performance loss instead of profit.
     
  2. RAD

    RAD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    332
    There are numerous ReadyBosst performance analyses on the web.
    I tried it, and ended up deciding there was no improvement with my 4 Gig of Ram. In fact, there were some odd instability issues that I suspect it was causing, because they disappeared when I quit using it. I tried really fast SD cards and compactr flash cards also (266X).

    A synopsis of the reviews:
    If you have less than 1 Gig of memory, it will significantly help. But the benefit falls off rapidly until it is just barely measureable with 2 Gigs.

    I thing the best way to get higher performance is just load up on RAM. More RAM ALWAY helps !

    Then, a faster processor, video card, and faster hard drives. ReadyBoost seems almost irrelevent to real performance increases.
     
  3. Eagle Creek

    Eagle Creek Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Interesting, just what I thought.
    I know there are several analyses available but the thing is that they also contradict each other.

    I've tried ReadyBoost on Vista machines with 1 GB, 2 GB and 4 GB and my experiences are the same.
    And if it works as explained, it should also work on a 2 GB machine heavy loaded. The pagefile will always be used (when you don't disable it of course).
     
  4. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    In most cases, ReadyBoost doesn't work.
     
  5. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
  6. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2008
  7. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    The thing with turning off ReadyBoost is that you also turn off ReadyBoot as well.
     
  8. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Apparently not completely.

    I have a C:\Windows\Prefetch\ReadyBoot folder, created when I booted up this AM, that contains a 12,800KB file, ReadyBoot.etl, that was modified less than a half hour ago.
     
  9. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    I have read on several other forums that this happens when you disable ReadyBoost. In that article I linked to it mentions this:

     
  10. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I expect that it happens even when ReadyBoost is enabled.
     
  11. RAD

    RAD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    332
    What does "disable Readyboost" imply ?

    I haven't done anything to "disable" it, but I am not using it with any removable media.
     
  12. Eagle Creek

    Eagle Creek Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    The Netherlands
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.