Windows Now Requires IPv6 for WiFi?

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by wsfmojosam, Dec 3, 2017.

  1. Stefan Froberg

    Stefan Froberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Posts:
    404
    Internally, computer software don't use (or care) human readable text presentation of IPv4 addresses like 255.255.255.255.

    That's just meant for us dump, memory challenged humans (quick! tell me right now what is your 32-bit address in decimal notation! or how about in hexadecimal! or maybe in raw binary! :D)
    So where human sees 255.255.255.255 the computer software or operating system could see it just ffffffff (that's hexadecimal presentation of 255.255.255.255) or maybe 4294967295 (decimal presentation). And of course, the actual hardware, the CPU, does not see even that but just raw binary of 32 'ones' like 11111111111111111111111111111111

    As for IPv6, well they are already using the hex presentation because the damn thing has so large address space (128 bits)

    EDIT: And if someone want's to know how big the 128 bit is then
    it's 2^128 = 340 282 366 920 938 463 463 374 607 431 768 211 456
    Yup, with IPv6 you could easily give every sand of grain on old planet Earth it's very own address.
    And there would propably be left over for some other planets too .... ;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2017
  2. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    614
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts.

    Attached Files:

  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,568
    Location:
    USA
    Agreed. I think we're all trying to make the same end point. The range is 0-65535, which is 65536 values. I'm going to call that good enough for me for not wanting to drag this too far off topic.
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,568
    Location:
    USA
    That's odd. Something is, that is not normal. I've never seen it.
     
  5. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    614
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts.
    Every time i try to change to "FFFFFFFF" changes back to "28"
    Has to be Winscribe submitted a support ticket, interesting what they will say, googled it and no results.
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,792
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    This may be of interest here.
    Code:
    https://www.infosec.gov.hk/english/technical/files/ipv6s.pdf
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.