Windows Installer

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Relemar, May 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Relemar

    Relemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    right, I've uninstalled Windows Installer and installed the latest version, but it didnt install and i have no add/remove programs and cannot install.


    I've tryed reinstalling in safe mode, rebooting about 9 times and I cannot install it :(


    what can i do?
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,763
    Location:
    Texas
  3. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
  4. Relemar

    Relemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    Let's try, I thought NICK had deleted my topic. Let me try it ;)
     
  5. Relemar

    Relemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    Ronjor, that doesn't work just tryed it. NICK the first link is totally the wrong thing, and the second one is what I've tryed installing, it says no errors but it doesn't install my Add/Remove programs..
     
  6. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    You can try downloading and installing this Microsoft utility to see what program's it has listed as you may find that that your windows installer is in fact installed after all but may have a corrupted entry. If it should be listed then you will be able to uninstall correctly and then try installing once again

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301

    regards
     
  7. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    May i ask how you uninstalled the original widows installer ? The reason being is that the update 3.1 installs over the top of it
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,763
    Location:
    Texas
    Also go to start, run and type in appwiz.cpl and see if the add/remove window comes up.
     
  9. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks: Speaking of Window Installer 3.1, my friend has a problem w/ it since microsoft upgraded it from v.3.0. Some of the programs he tried to intall are getting error 2203. Still can not resolve the situation, can you help ?
     
  10. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Perman :)
    Do make sure your friend has his account set as an administrator before he installs any software as some software will not install on a limited account
     
  11. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, Nick: I will relay your remedy. Thanks.
     
  12. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Your welcome :)
     
  13. Relemar

    Relemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    Well you haven't helped yet :(!

    I installed the latest version and it said install successful but when i go to start then control panel my add/remove programs aint there and i cant install new software, ive tryed reinstalling several times with no look.
     
  14. Relemar

    Relemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    by that i meant ive updated versions. i just downloaded the latest version and installed that, now i cant install or uninstall.
     
  15. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Well as your add/remove programs is missing from the control panel this may very well mean you will have to do a repair of the OS of which how best to do that can be found here
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/helpandsupport/learnmore/tips/doug92.mspx
    One last thing to try before repairing your OS. In the control panel in admin tools just click open services and make sure the windows instller in there is listed and if so make sure it is started and set at automatic

    Regards
     
  16. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,763
    Location:
    Texas
    Have you tried the suggestion in post eight yet?
     
  17. Relemar

    Relemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    i went to services.msc and looked for Windows installer and tryed starting it but it says the file is missing error

    also, i have no CD the PC license is not cracked i have my license but not the CD.

    i have two CD's called backup and another one restore. but 1 of them makes it go back to when it was from Tiny.

    but i upgraded and stuff and it has no Tiny/warehouse components, so thats no good.

    damn im doomed.
     
  18. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,763
    Location:
    Texas
  19. Relemar

    Relemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    should I reinstall Windows XP SP2?
     
  20. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,763
    Location:
    Texas
    You have several options. Pick the one you like. :)
     
  21. Relemar

    Relemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    I was ifnected with a Trojan and NOD32 cleaned it, it took some DLL's and stuff needed by Windows XP to run properly, Windows Update doesn't work, or System restore or my WIndows Installer.

    I want to reformat but I have no CD (and i aint buying) I have a license key working and valid.

    What are the "options" again.

    and thanks for your help.
     
  22. Relemar

    Relemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    all i want is Windows XP installing from scratch and my Hard Drive. BUT I HAVE NO WINDOWS XP CD lol ;)
     
  23. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,763
    Location:
    Texas
  24. Relemar

    Relemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    i have no viruses, malware or spyware. my pc runs fast as anything, I just want my Windows XP to have all the functions and stuff working, but that's not the case.

    I have NOD32 and CounterSpy with no problems about Malware. I'm good with malware!

    I had a Trojan muck up my Windows and everything, if i go to run and type msconfig and it comes up with windows cannot locate this file, but i don't need that.

    just want all the functions and stuff to work good. i need an ISO image of XP from somewhere
     
  25. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.