Windows Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Sunnysdsr, Jul 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sunnysdsr

    Sunnysdsr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Hey, I'm currently running ZA Pro along with Windows Firewall+SP2 but the problem is after a reboot of my pc, the Windows Firewall is automatically disabled even when I set it onto enabled. Please, help.
     
  2. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    IMHO ZA disables the Windows FW, but i am not sure, and by the way i don't
    think it is recomandable to run both FW parallel.
     
  3. Sunnysdsr

    Sunnysdsr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Thanks for the reply. Hmm.. is it possible for me to configure Zonealarm to not disable the Windows firewall?
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,898
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Is there a particular reason you want to run two firewalls at the same time??
     
  5. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Can't tell, i am using Jetico, but as also @bigc73542 asked, why _two_ firewalls?
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,924
    Location:
    Texas
    Zone Alarm disables the Windows firewall by default. If you uninstall Zone Alarm, it should re-enable the Windows firewall.

    This eliminates possible conflicts between firewalls.

    You don't need two firewalls running at the same time.
     
  7. Sunnysdsr

    Sunnysdsr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Thanks for the replies guys. I just thought running two firewalls at once would provide more security, but I guess it really dosen't make a difference.
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,898
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It really does make a difference. Running two firewalls can actually lessen your protection as they both try to use the same resources. And they might cancel each other out.
     
  9. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Hi bigc,

    I'm assuming that this refers to SOFTWARE firewalls only....and not if a user is behind a hardware dual firewall/router (NAT+SPI) AND is using a software firewall with both inbound and outbound protection enabled......correct?
     
  10. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Yes,.. correct.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.