Windows Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Sunnysdsr, Jul 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sunnysdsr

    Sunnysdsr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Hey, I'm currently running ZA Pro along with Windows Firewall+SP2 but the problem is after a reboot of my pc, the Windows Firewall is automatically disabled even when I set it onto enabled. Please, help.
     
  2. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    IMHO ZA disables the Windows FW, but i am not sure, and by the way i don't
    think it is recomandable to run both FW parallel.
     
  3. Sunnysdsr

    Sunnysdsr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Thanks for the reply. Hmm.. is it possible for me to configure Zonealarm to not disable the Windows firewall?
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Is there a particular reason you want to run two firewalls at the same time??
     
  5. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Can't tell, i am using Jetico, but as also @bigc73542 asked, why _two_ firewalls?
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    Zone Alarm disables the Windows firewall by default. If you uninstall Zone Alarm, it should re-enable the Windows firewall.

    This eliminates possible conflicts between firewalls.

    You don't need two firewalls running at the same time.
     
  7. Sunnysdsr

    Sunnysdsr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Thanks for the replies guys. I just thought running two firewalls at once would provide more security, but I guess it really dosen't make a difference.
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It really does make a difference. Running two firewalls can actually lessen your protection as they both try to use the same resources. And they might cancel each other out.
     
  9. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Hi bigc,

    I'm assuming that this refers to SOFTWARE firewalls only....and not if a user is behind a hardware dual firewall/router (NAT+SPI) AND is using a software firewall with both inbound and outbound protection enabled......correct?
     
  10. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Yes,.. correct.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.