Windows firewall disabled...or not??

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by JoeBlack40, Jan 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    I have Privatefirewall installed and since this morning at reboot,a pop up appear from Windows FW although it's disabled.What i'm missing here o_O
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 5, 2014
  2. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    I usually check WFW in services. I have it disabled now.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Thanks.To be honest,it's odd i have to do this now since i never stopped and disabled that service and never had any pop-ups...
     
  4. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    WFW service can be disabled when you install a third party FW.

    I usually use non-MS FW, and once found that I have WFW on alongside a third party FW, since then I have WFW disabled. When I want WFW on I make it thru services.
     
  5. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    IMHO irrespective to Win popup, WFW must be off when PFW is on.
     
  6. DaZa9

    DaZa9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Posts:
    22
    I think PrivateFW enables WindowsFW by default, isn't it?
     
  7. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Exactly this thing are "saying" my screenshots and that's why my confusion.WindowsFW is disabled still got pop-ups.

    Maybe do you mean disables,because this is what Privatefirewall does at installation.
     
  8. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    Actually any third party FW must disable WFW. When you uninstall 3pFW then WFW must be enabled. So if you have PFW and Windows popups that WFW is off as an issue - it must be Win bug. I see it in this way.
     
  9. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,729
    Location:
    localhost
    Watch out, some 3rd party firewalls requires the Microsoft firewall service to be ON while the windows firewall itself to be OFF. Normally this is the default setup to avoid problems.
     
  10. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    So,it's not such a wise move to disable Windows FW service?
     
  11. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    UK
    I've had this windows firewall notification problem on Comodo firewall V6 on a few occasions... I've disabled the windows firewall after reading through this thread and checked afterwards at Shields Up...All seems to be well.
     
  12. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    210
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    Hmm, my outpost disables the windows firewall and links in to the security centre to stop the red notifications. it does NOT disable the firewall service and does not reccommend doing so. apparently the service is in part responsible for allowing the 3rd party firewall service to communicate that it is there to the security centre.

    you might want to turn the service back on auto and turn off the firewall via control panel.
     
  13. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    UK
    Actually, after I rebooted my system the WFW was re-enabled (services) to automatic, I assume that the Comodo fw did this as part of its own protection.
     
  14. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    After reading the 2 posts advice,i re-enabled Windows FW service.
     
  15. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,729
    Location:
    localhost
    Yeap... Don't know for private firewall but in general is not needed or desirable to disable it... :thumb:
     
  16. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    Yeah, that's interesting question: if you have a 3-d party FW than obviously Win FW must be off, but what about the Win FW service?

    Now I made Win FW service to automatic and disabled the Win FW. I hope it's the right way.
     
  17. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc766337(v=ws.10).aspx
     
  18. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    Thank you, I needed such confirmation.


     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.