Windows Firewall Control (WFC) by BiniSoft.org

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by alexandrud, May 20, 2013.

  1. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    136
    New version is great. Small request: when opening the Rules Panel/Connections Log, make the search box immediately active. It would help immensely for instant searches (no mouse action required).
     
  2. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,104
    Location:
    .
    with 5.1, what does the @ mean
    2524.png
     
  3. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,123
    Location:
    Romania
    You can read more about the ff02::c multicast address here.
    I will do this in the next WFC version.
    The @ does not mean anything. This is how the names of the firewall rules are stored and retrieved by Windows Firewall API. Usually, firewall rules starting with @ are firewall rules for Windows Store apps.
     
  4. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,104
    Location:
    .
    Those #3919 are the first @ I've seen since 5.1. I think they came with 4092077 #3899.
    With 5.0... I had @ Group.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2018
  5. krawhitham

    krawhitham Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Is there some trick to allows 'bash for windows' to connect to the internet through WFC? I allowed pico.exe
     
  6. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,123
    Location:
    Romania
    Press F1 in any WFC window to open the user manual and read the following topic: Troubleshooting > I can't allow Windows Subsystem for Linux through Windows Firewall
     
  7. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    136
    I'd be also nice if you could create a WFC folder in the Start Menu, and put the program shortcut in there along with a direct shortcut to the manual. It's very informative and deserves at least its own shortcut. :) (users would find it more easily, too)
     
  8. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    .
    Create your own shortcut, not everyone wants to bloat their desktop/startmenu with shortcuts.

    Also why choose .CHM file for the documentation, what with it having unfixable security vulnerabilities, even MS has dropped support for them.
     
  9. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    136
    It is standard Windows practice, not an exotic request. If you don't like it, delete your own shortcuts or change OS. The option to add Start Menu shortcuts during install is often optional anyway. Telling the user to add them is bad practice and by the way, I never mentioned any desktop shortcuts so you might want to adjust your reading and answering techniques.
     
  10. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,104
    Location:
    .
    left click WFC taskbar Icon + 2528sss.png = easy
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2018
  11. myk1

    myk1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hi Alexandrud,
    Three small questions please:
    - I know where the rules of Windows Firewall are => in the registry.
    But where are the rules of WFC ?
    -If I change a rule directly in Windows Firewall, how does WFC react? Does WFC memorize my action?
    -µTorrent needs an incoming rule with an advanced setting i.e." authorizing edge traffic". Can WFC manage that?
    Thks,
    M. (registered and happy owner)
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2018
  12. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    .
    Create your own. Stay mad.
     
  13. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    895
    Location:
    Lunar module
    - Windows Firewall and WFC rules:
    HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess\Parameters\FirewallPolicy\FirewallRules
    - WFC global settings:
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{WD2827D4-F8E0-B379-I229-D89D12E4642A}
    - WFC user settings:
    HKCU\Software\BiniSoft.org\Windows Firewall Control
    WFC accept and remember these rules, and vice versa: WF<-> WFC.
    The necessary condition - mode "Secure Rules" must be OFF in the WFC.
    It seems to me that such a rule for μTorrent (uTorrent.exe)
    - allow all outgoing connections
    - allow TCP incoming to the incoming connections port 012345 (012345 specified in your μTorrent settings)
    - allow UDP incoming to the incoming connections port 012345 (012345 specified in your μTorrent settings)
    - block all connections on port 10000 (last identified vulnerability).
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2018
  14. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,123
    Location:
    Romania
    I will think about this.
    Was it better in the past when there was no user manual at all? If you are concerned about chm security vulnerabilities, then do not use the user manual, but let's not get paranoid about a simple chm file.
     
  15. myk1

    myk1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thks.
    -So, all the rules Windows + WFC are at the same place in the registry?
    -What about an incoming rule with an advanced setting i.e." authorizing edge traffic".
    Can WFC manage that?
     
  16. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    .
    Make it optional then, such as "Do you want to create a shortcut" checkbox during installation.

    That user doesn't even release the shortcut does nothing, if WFC starts with the PC then just click the taskbar icon to open it, a shortcut won't magically make it open.

    Do I have a choice? You give no other options, web version, PDF, and you say many times in this thread, to read the manual. I only asked because none I know uses them anymore because of the vulnerabilities.
     
  17. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    136
    You do realise that WFC already creates a Start Menu shortcut automatically, right?

    It could very well be optional, as many installers already offer this option. Those that don't, install the shortcuts by default otherwise you'd have to manually browse to Program Files to open programs.
     
  18. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    .
    Explain to me why you need a shortcut, what's the use case.
     
  19. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    136
    I suggested a shortcut for the manual (which you still seem to ignore), next to the current program shortcut. I don't "need" it, but I would be able to open the manual faster with a few keyword presses without requiring the main UI or mouse.

    Moreover, users who are wondering where this manual might be (and I've seen a few here) would easily find it in a familiar place, the Start Menu. Pressing F1 or the easy to miss top-right icon is not what they would do first, or at all. It might save alexandrud from answering the same questions and again: it's unusually well-written and informative and putting it there can only help getting to know WFC better.

    Not related to what I suggested, but you keep complaining the program shortcut is useless. What happens if WFC is closed, or not started during system startup? How would you open it?
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2018
  20. GeorgeMc

    GeorgeMc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Thank you Alexandrud,
    I don't have TinyWall or GlassWire
    I now removed the new version and installed the 5.02
    and no problem with 5.02 at all
    and intend to stick to 5.02 and never update.

    I never have to create inbound rules for connectify with 5.02, whereas I couldn't get any wifi connection with the latest WFC. So Ihave 5.02 and no problem at all
    PS: To clarify further:
    I use laptop's internet connection not the mobilephone's internet:

    I have "Connectify Hotspot" at my laptop, turns my Laptop into a Wi-Fi hotspot, letting my smartphone use the laptop's wifi connection.

    So the new version DO fail, and 5.02 WORKS OK

     
  21. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    895
    Location:
    Lunar module
    11.png
    And it would be useful to switch the interface language from the WFC itself, and not from the Program files. Then would be in the Program Files at the same time files wfcEN.lng, wfcDE.lng... and there would be no need to delete, rename, copy these files when switching the language, even with a restart WFC.
    For example, menu: Change Interface Language->Select->WFC will be restarted to apply the changes, continue?->Yes ... No.
    Who uses several interface languages, he will appreciate this proposal.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018
  22. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,123
    Location:
    Romania
    From code is easier to open a chm file direct to the related topic. I can compile a web help instead of chm and post it on the website instead of distributing the chm file in the installer. I will think about this.
    It doesn't make any sense. WFC does not filter any connection, what is allowed or what is blocked is done by Windows Firewall itself based on the existing firewall rules. The problems that you were facing have nothing to do with the fact that you updated to version 5.1.0.0. Something else is missing here.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018
  23. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    895
    Location:
    Lunar module
    No, no, only not instead of, in offline it is sometimes much more convenient to read Manual. It will not be correct to remove the Manual from the distr.
     
  24. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,892
    Location:
    US
    Is there a way to white list all processes and only alert you of new ones.
     
  25. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    895
    Location:
    Lunar module
    To alexandrud
    1. :thumb: Rules Panel: the logic of the "Display - xxx rules" window is very good, when you select "Outbound rules", "Inbound rules", "Filter by enabled", "Filter by disabled"..., the list of displayed rules automatically updates, without clicking "Refresh list" button.
    2. :thumbd: Rules Panel: The disadvantage is that the "Search" field is cleared, when I switch the above modes.
    It is logical, that this field is not cleared, until the user manually clears it, or after restart WFC, or after reboot the comp.
    3. :thumbd: Connections Log: the same field "Search" is cleared when switching display modes.
    4. :thumbd: Connections Log: here, unfortunately, the principle described in #1, does not work.

    Correcting all :thumbd::thumbd::thumbd: the minuses will save the user from the numerous unnecessary clicks of the "Refresh List".
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.