Windows Firewall Control (WFC) by BiniSoft.org

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by alexandrud, May 20, 2013.

  1. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    Romania
    The only IP where WFC should be allowed to connect is 66.198.240.5, and only when it checks for updates. Other connection attempts should be blocked, as they are generated by the operating system, not by WFC code. However, in the notification dialog context (when a new notification is displayed), WFC checks if the program has a digital signature. On other cases, the operating system checks if there is a valid certificate for WFC, or even referenced assemblies may check for a valid digital certificate. All these are made in the name of wfc.exe even if I don't trigger such verifications from WFC code. One thing is sure, WFC doesn't do any hidden activity on your system.
    No, WFC can't display the service name because this information is not available.
    If you have a new provider, different than the existing providers, I can add it into WFC list. In the past, this was editable, but many users didn't know the alternatives, so I made this as combo box with some predefined providers.
     
  2. bORN2BWILD

    bORN2BWILD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Greece
    I'm using the latest version and Windows 10 (1607) 64bit.

    My problem is that while i block "explorer.exe" apparently it can't be blocked no matter what.

    Continues to connect to IPs like 191.232.139.141 (Microsoft Dublin) and others like Akamai.

    The STRANGE is that it shows in Connections LOG both in Blocked and Allowed log connections. Very strange.

    Any ideas ?

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2016
  3. peter_brown_usa

    peter_brown_usa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    Any news on this problem as it has happened again, I also noticed that when you re-activate the registration in the My Account page the notification settings go to disabled and not at Medium were it originally was.
    Do any other settings get adjusted as well?? Getting to be a pain why Registration keeps going missing
     
  4. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    Romania
    While the program is not activated the notifications system is disabled. If you activate it, the notification level remains disabled until you switch it.

    The program code regarding the activation is unchanged between these two versions and the activation status should not be affected.

    1. The activation status is kept in Windows Registry under this key:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{WD2827D4-F8E0-B379-I229-D89D12E4642A}\Activation Code

    Make sure that WFC is not prevented to write/read this registry key by a 3rd party security software that you may use, usually an antivirus. Check this key after you activate the software and again after it appears to be unregistered. Is it unchanged or is it different ?

    2. Do you use any software like CCleaner or similar "cleaners" ? CCleaner is known to delete stuff that it shouldn't. Maybe this key is removed in the process.

    I will do some more tests to see if I can reproduce it. It didn't happened on my side.
     
  5. gfx400

    gfx400 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Europe
    I have the same problem. Since version 4.8.7.0 the activation is lost after a reboot.
    The registry key does not change after activation.
     
  6. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    Romania
  7. meidle

    meidle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    USA
    and another thing
    rules panel do not display localized package DisplayName for windows uwp apps
    making harder to identify rules for packaged apps
    ex: for Cortana name is show as @{Microsoft.AccountsControl_10.0.14393.206_neutral__cw5n1h2txyewy?ms-resource://Microsoft.AccountsControl/Resources/DisplayName}
    default windows firewall interface display app name
    there is a problem with secure rules feature when importing groups WFC disable(or delete)
    original apps rules because it cannot phrase group names

    and a minor thing at uninstall winevent log entry WFC is not removed
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2016
  8. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    Romania
    These rules appear the same in WFwAS and WFC on my system. This is how Windows Firewall API provides them. I can't do anything about this.

    upload_2016-10-12_22-23-55.png

    To protect those Windows 10 rules, add the following group name in the list of authorized group names: @ (just a simple @) I will mention this in the user manual.

    During a Windows session you can't remove and recreate the same event log (the same name, here WFC). Instead of requiring the user to restart the computer for a second installation, I decided to leave the WFC log. This is a known issue and an accepted workaround.
     
  9. Alpengreis

    Alpengreis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    Switzerland
    @alexandrud

    In MOST cases, the thing with the "@" seems so - mostly it's the same in WFC and WFwAS - unfortunately not always!

    It's possible to have a rule with "@" in WFC and with "resolved APP name" in WFwAS!

    See here for example ...

    wfc.JPG

    WFwAs.JPG

    I believe, this is the case, if you let Win manage and or create such rules automatically ... then it's even possible that you have some "generations" of such rules and the current are resolved ...
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2016
  10. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    357
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm running Win10 version 1511 on several machines - the WFC tray icon is frequently not showing up on system boot since this weeks Windows Update. Is anyone else seeing this? The process & service are running - just no tray icon...

    is there any way to open the GUI when the tray icon isn't displayed? or to manually start the tray icon

    Thanks
     
  11. Alpengreis

    Alpengreis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I had this behaviour too (earlier). You could try to deinstall and reinstall WFC. Here that had helped. So it would be better to really resolve this problem instead adding a workaround.

    Also it seems this has nothing direct to do with WFC itself, this seems a generally Win problem with such "Start Jobs".
     
  12. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    Romania
    Indeed, but the problem still has no solution from my side since these names are retrieved like this from Windows Firewall API. I can't resolve the app names. No solution yet.
    Check your antivirus, also Windows Defender. Try to add wfc.exe and wfcs.exe in the exclusions list of any security software that you use. Also, disable the auto start from WFC and use an alternative way of automatically start it at Windows start-up. For example, through Task Scheduler. See if this works.
     
  13. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    Romania
    I have extended the code to log some more info in the Windows service to see more clearly what is going on.

    1. When you have time, please download and install the beta version 4.8.7.2 and check the activation status after an restart. How does it appear ?

    Download URL: http://binisoft.org/download/beta/wfc4setup.exe

    2. Go to the WFC event log and see if there is any new event logged, especially the Event ID 490. Please export the log and send it to support@binisoft.org to take a look.

    3. Try to set the Startup type of Windows Firewall Control Service to Delayed Start. This will give the service a little delay during the boot time which may help with this problem.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2016
  14. guest

    guest Guest

    What is the road map of WFC now that is quite complete in terms of features and very stable?
    Beside small modifications and fixes do you have something in mind?
     
  15. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    357
    Location:
    Canada
  16. teodor12

    teodor12 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Posts:
    10
  17. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    Romania
    I have updated a little bit the beta version which is now version 4.8.7.2.

    Download URL:
    http://binisoft.org/download/beta/wfc4setup.exe

    You should not receive anymore that kind of exception. More related to that exception can be read here:
    http://george.chiramattel.com/blog/2007/09/deflatestream-block-length-does-not-match.html

    It worked without this workaround in the past years and never had any reports about a similar problem. Anyway, this should fix the error.

    Please let me know if this solves the problem on your side, as I can't reproduce it on my test machines.
     
  18. teodor12

    teodor12 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks so much , it really fix the problem , now is ok
     
  19. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    Romania
    Thank you for your feedback. I will include this fix in the next official release.
     
  20. gfx400

    gfx400 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Europe
    Sorry for the late reply.
    I was testing these old versions and everything worked.

    I will try the beta version in the next days.
     
  21. bORN2BWILD

    bORN2BWILD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Greece
    I'm using the latest official version and Windows 10 64bit.

    Many times the green Firewall control icon on the bottom line of my desktop doesn't respond. If i hover it, it shows Windows Firewall Control but it can't be clicked or anything.

    If i reboot it works fine.

    Thanks
     
  22. Alpengreis

    Alpengreis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Here are two generally suggestions for this or similar problems:

    1) Workaround: change start of "Windows Firewall Control Service" to "Delayed Start" to give more time for the service start while booting.

    2) Clean solution: reinstall WFC (was helpful here on my system for similar problem).

    Good to know: this seems NOT a WFC problem - this seems a problem of Win with services. So all can be good and (for example) after a Win Update, you can "immediately" have such a behaviour.

    Good Luck.
     
  23. bORN2BWILD

    bORN2BWILD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Greece
    Hi,

    Yes with #2 solution it seems to be working fine for 1 day now. This is not so important but i wonder if apart from the icon not working, does it protect ? Or the firewall also stops ?

    Thanks
     
  24. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    Romania
    WFC is just a front end. Windows Firewall ensures the filtering and has the firewall rules. So, even if WFC is not running, the firewall protects your computer.
     
  25. Luthcase

    Luthcase Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Europe
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64.

    WFC v4.8.7.0 won't create a rule if executable for which the rule is being created has a % (percentage) sign in its file path.

    For instance, the rule is created and saved for C:\test\Chromium\ChromiumPortable.exe, but wouldn't be created for C:\%test\Chromium\ChromiumPortable.exe

    I'm a fan of portable applications and some of my portable executables have paths like path\%Program Files%\name.exe and I can't create firewall rules for such applications.

    I haven't tested if other unusual path characters, other than %, cause problems for WFC.

    Is it possible to fix this issue?
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2016
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.