Windows Firewall Control 4

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by alexandrud, May 20, 2013.

  1. Alpengreis

    Alpengreis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Switzerland
    @alexandrud

    I'm not sure if the following is a bug or not. However: the behaviour is not right, so I decided to report it:

    Sometimes - perhaps after HIBERNATION only (COULD be also after sleep), the WFC tray icon disappears. The service is still running and I can start the WFC GUI. It SEEMS so that WFC is the one and only tray icon with this behaviour.

    Maybe you can initiate a reloading of tray icon after hibernate/sleep or something like that to ensure that it appears again.

    Greetings
    Alpengreis
     
  2. PrinceYann

    PrinceYann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    Understood.

    The reason behind the question is that sometimes I would like to add a new range of addresses to multiple block rules that are specific for different programs.

    I am going to try what you suggested. Thank you.
     
  3. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,323
    Location:
    Romania
    The process wfc.exe is gone from Task Manager either or just the tray icon is missing ? When this happens again, please check this.
    I tried on my test systems, hibernation and also the sleep mode. Neither of them closed wfc.exe which was running just fine after the wake up. Unfortunately I can't reproduce this. I do believe that you have this behavior but if it is random, then it is hard to provide a solution. Normally, the process should not close out of nowhere. Please check the Application log in Event Viewer and WFC log to see if you see any exception logged there. If not, it is pretty hard to catch this scenario.
     
  4. Broadway

    Broadway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    I can confirm the issue, though I never use hibernation or sleep, on WIN7 64bit. From time to time the tray icon has disappeared. As mentioned, the service still runs and the gui can be manually restarted.
    I will investigate, too, in case it occurs again.
     
  5. Alpengreis

    Alpengreis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Thanks for answering, Alexandru. As I wrote, the service is still there and runs. Also, I had not opened the WFC GUI before Hibernation/Sleep. I had this - If I remember correctly - also on my older Installation with Win 7 already rarely.

    It's nothing dramatically and I can easely start the WFC GUI nevertheless. Just the tray icon is no more there until I make a system reboot (probably logout/login would be enough).

    I have no log because the only "crash" was the tray icon.

    And a bit weird is that WFC is the one and only tray icon with such a "behaviour" ...

    No worries ... it's indeed random (it SEEMS so) ... if not and I can tell you more (the reason), I will make another report then.
     
  6. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi, can I recommend a small usability request to the GUI, specifically the right click context menu, INC a quick and bad paint job to illustrate my point, probably better then my words can.

    http://i.imgur.com/vgTGCEr.png

    That Profile > Arrow just takes time to navigate, it's not doing anything but waste time in order to quick swap profiles, I could maybe see the point of it if it were preventing option clutter, but there's hardly anything there to clutter.

    and the "Main Panel" it just redundant.

    Anyway just something to consider.
     
  7. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,323
    Location:
    Romania
    I do not consider the Main Panel entry redundant. Indeed, it is launched anyway on left click, but for the right click context menu, I think it should be there. Regarding the Profiles submenu, I made it like this on purpose to avoid accidental switch of the profile. Sometimes, system tray applications may have a little delay and the user may press again outside of the context menu to close an unresponsive (delayed) context menu, but at the point the user clicks the second time, the context menu just appeared and the action is performed. Personally, I would like to keep the context menu with the Profiles as a sub menu.
     
  8. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,363
    Why it could happen that I am getting duplicated popups? one from WF and another from WFC
    This had happened me in different Windows versions at different points in time
     
  9. Alpengreis

    Alpengreis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Switzerland
    @lordraiden

    From WF? The original Windows Firewall Advanced Security creates never popups for OUTGOING traffic ... on the other side WFC creates never popups for INBOUND traffic ...

    Can you give more details?
     
  10. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,323
    Location:
    Romania
    Please press F1 in any WFC window to open the user manual and read the following topic:
    User interface > Main Panel > Notifications > How does the notifications system work?
    It will answer your question. These are two different things, they are not duplicates.
     
  11. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    3,974
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    What if I emailed you my Windows Firewall Rules? Perhaps if you have, or could find some spare time you could trim the fat so to speak and delete the useless duplicate rules for me.

    I can certainly understand if you're too busy for that.

    Cheers.
     
  12. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,323
    Location:
    Romania
    Please read again my previous answer related to your rules set: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/windows-firewall-control-4.347370/page-126#post-2674159
    If you are a home user, delete all inbound rules, use the WFC recommend set of rules as a starting point and add new allow rules when you launch new programs which don't have yet any rule. That's all. It is not complicated. Sending me your rules for cleaning them up, is a polite NO.
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    3,974
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Fair enough, I completely understand. :thumb:

    Yep, I've done that.
    What you didn't say, or I quite possible missed it, was to delete all outbound rules and use WFC recommended set as a starting point. Anyway, I've done that now and instead of 315 rules I've so far only got 65.

    The newbie factor is knowing for sure what I should or shouldn't allow.
     
  14. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,363
    You mean this
    I doubt the software for which I have seen the poups requires incoming traffic. I have never accepted those poups and the software still works
    I will take a look when I have the PC I took that quote from the web

    We are talking about this, right?

    https://goo.gl/images/zgbSbm
     
  15. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,323
    Location:
    Romania
    Most programs will work even if you don't allow inbound access for them. If you saw that dialog, it is displayed by Windows Firewall itself when a software wants to open a port to listen for incoming connections.
     
  16. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,365
    Location:
    Mexico
    Namely and in my own experience: browsers like chromium ones.
     
Loading...