Windows Explorer tree is what in PCLOS? - Linux

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by zapjb, Aug 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,516
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    In XP I have a shortcut to Windows Explorer on the desktop. And I can lookup any path.

    Even after a couple months on PCLOS. I'm pretty much clueless trying to look up paths. And what should be where & what directory is subset of what directory.

    Is there a catchall tree like Windows Explorer in PCLOS? And if so how can I add it to the desktop or the taskbar?

    If not is or even if there is. Is there a simple explanation of the "tree" in PCLOS?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    You're looking for the File Browser. Perhaps you have Nautilus, i don't know PCLOS.
    There are a lot of articles, but maybe this one is simple enough for now.
    Overall, The Linux Documentation Project is very good.
     
  3. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,

    Do you have KDE desktop?
    Then, you have Konqueror, which is a browser / file manager, the closest equivalent to Windows Explorer. You open it, go anywhere you want, you have the path in the address bar.

    You wish to place a shortcut on the desktop? Find it under the K-Menu, drag and drop > place link here. That's it.

    Mrk
     
  4. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,516
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    You do find some funky strange things...
    I don't know what to say, I'll think this one through, see if I can come up with anything smart.
    Mrk
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,516
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I reopened Konq as SU. Now most all appears ok. Weird. Except those 3 icons only show up in the lft tree not the rt panel. Weird again.
     
  7. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    The location bar should show " / " and not " /root ", the icons (folders) you want don't show in /root
     
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,516
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Hi FG. I'm confused. Post #4 here links to same post at PCLOS with more info. If you'd help that'd be great!
     
  9. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    To get the view you want, Menu> System Menu> Storage Media> in left pane click on the red Root folder.

    or

    Open Konqueror in super user mode and do the same.

    Open Home and it should be the same.

    You need to make sure that Show Navigation panel is enabled in Konqueror, Window> Show Navigation panel.

    If you can't get it working post a screen shot so I can see what you have.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2007
  10. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,516
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    "To get the view you want, Menu> System Menu> Storage Media> in left pane click on the red Root folder."

    This path I can't find.



    The SU in Konq works mostly.
     
  11. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Could it be that your account simply doesn't have those permissions?
    Did you try Bastille Linux or something of the sort? Note this is a wild guess.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.