Windows Defender Won't Stay Off!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Brandonn2010, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    I upgraded to Windows 10. I quickly disabled Windows Defender as it is garbage, its service was using a lot of resources (somehow), and I have VoodooShield. However, it seems to turn itself back on after a while. I cannot disable the service, and cannot find how to keep it off.
     
  2. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,780
    Location:
    Mexico
    http://winaero.com/blog/nodefender-disable-windows-defender-in-windows-10-with-few-clicks/
    Not tested by me...
    HTH
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 31, 2015
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Personally, I wouldn't use a hack on my operating system security features.

    Are you using any anti-malware programs besides VS?
     
  4. syrinx

    syrinx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    334
    If you have pro there's an option in gpedit.msc to disable it, just filter by keyword defender. Failing that you could find the service in regedit and manually set it to start 4 which is disabled (though services.msc won't let you do it thru the gui) and once you reboot it shouldn't ever start again.

    eg something like
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\WdNisSvc]
    "Start"=dword:00000004
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\WinDefend]
    "Start"=dword:00000004
    
     
  5. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,780
    Location:
    Mexico
  6. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    665
    Just use Group Policy to shut it off. gpedit.msc
     
  7. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Sounds like your security product is not being detected by Windows, thus WD keeps reenabling itself.

    Personally, I like a lot the behavior of WD on Windows 10 :)
     
  8. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    How can you judge, WIN10 is out for less then two days.
    I like the way Windows Defender protects itself from tampering.
    I would keep WD and ad a second line of defense, like MBAM, that covers what WD doesn't.
     
  9. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    USA
    I read this thread, went and checked and sure enough Windows Defender was on, along with Nod32 and Malwarebytes. Used group policy to turn it off then have this little "At risk" notification icon because WD is off. System seems a little faster with it off, booted a little faster too I think.
     
  10. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    665
    Yes, it doesn't make your system unstable. I kept getting a warning that it was off.
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    It says on but it is actually off if you are using the Eset anti-malware program or any other antivirus program that Windows recognizes.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/antivirus-partners#AVtabs=win7
     
  12. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    855
    I noticed this same issue during my brief upgrade to Windows 10. Pretty annoying for people like me who no longer see any value in realtime scanners.
     
  13. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i use group policy to turn it off works great. no issues at all that way
     
  14. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    USA
    Yea, system is stable,
    Well, that's just dandy. A little fix for MS eh.
     
  15. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    You have to remember, many users simply don't know how to protect their computers and having an anti-malware can be of some help.
     
  16. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,285
    I had Panda Free installed in Windows 8.1, upgraded to 10 from Windows Update. Panda was "transferred" to 10 and is operating normally. Defender is disabled and I haven´t received any notification about this.
     
  17. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,787
    I had Panda Free in 10 after my upgrade (from 7) and it was slowing down my boot time, so I just removed Panda and I'll just use Defender now.
     
  18. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    855
    Absolutely, and that's the approach I use when setting up security for others. I'm not inflexible, I just want the OS to respect my choices without fighting me. At a later point when I do a clean install of Windows 10, I'll look into it more closely to see how to work effectively with the new OS.
     
  19. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    I used the gpedit.msc and that worked.
     
Loading...