Windows Defender Is Becoming the Powerful Antivirus That Windows 10 Needs

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Secondmineboy, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,646
    No, unfortunately not. You'd probably want to install third party security software that offers similar functionality.
     
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,851
    I figured. Any recommendations on that front? Shame as it looks like ATP is pretty solid.
     
  3. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,646
    It shouldn't be greyed out if you're connected to the Internet. I'm not on a domain.
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,851
    And you enabled the group policy settings like I did?
     
  5. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,646
    Nearest thing I have is Kaspersky Anti-Ransomware Tool. WD already detects ransomware but having a second protection layer makes WD even more robust.
     
  6. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,646
    Yes, I have. I enabled it in GPO. Basically, it provides cloud protection as well as the traditional signature-based protection delivered through Windows Update.
     
  7. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,397
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    OMG! Miracles happen.

    I got my very first URL alert from IE11 SmartScreen. So it appears MS might finally be "beefing up" its rep scanning capability.
     
  8. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,851
    Ok thanks.
     
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,851
    Interesting. I have it enabled and yet it is grayed out.
     
  10. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,646
    Smartscreen is an AE in Windows 10. Its equivalent to VoodooShield and NVT in earlier versions of Windows.
     
  11. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,646
    Is Cloud Protection turned on in Windows Defender Settings? The slider in mine is turned on.
     
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,851
    Yes it is. Got it sorted. I think something went amiss with Shutup O&O10 After tweaking that and rebooting, it is now not grayed out.

    EDIT: Ran some AMTSO testing with WD. Did not detect the eicar with a 7z extension. It also fails the AMTSO phishing test.
     
  13. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,851
    Do you have SS set to block on your pc?
     
  14. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,646
    It blocks executables at first run.
     
  15. guest

    guest Guest

    Yes I think so, same happend to me.
    Settings are now manage by a policy which is the way a domain admin would manage them

    Regarding ATP you won't find it very useful unless it is protecting hundreds of users. You can get similar protection running WD and a firewall and eventually monitor the connections your computer has open (glasswire could be fine) , it won't provide you as much information and it won't be correlated but it won't make much difference if all you want is to monitor one PC


    Trend micro and many others have had this kind of products for years, everyone calls them anti APT products (advanced persistent threat). Although depending on the products they could be a mix of Microsoft ATP and Microsoft ATA

    The most similar product for home users would be bitdefender box I haven't tried it but it must be quite limited in comparison.
    If you want to monitor traffic before it reaches your PC sophos XG firewall free or Asus routers with protect AI would be and option but any of them is exactly an anti APT
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 30, 2017
  16. guest

    guest Guest

  17. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,851
    I was able to get it sorted so all is ok now. Speaking of Group Policy. I saw there were settings in there to schedule WD to update more often etc . Does not seem to work. Have you had any experience with that by chance? If not, no worries.

    Thanks for the tips regarding ATP alternatives. I do have Glasswire but like you said, does not provide as much information.

    Cheers.
     
  18. guest

    guest Guest

    if you always go to safe sites, few are the chances you will see SS :D
     
  19. Martin_C

    Martin_C Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    525
    @Trooper :
    I have posted a link to all Windows Defender settings here :
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...-windows-10-needs.383448/page-34#post-2678962

    When you read your way through the 12 main categories, you will find all options to tailor every aspect of Windows Defender to your needs.
    You will also find all the update settings explained, and how they influence each other.
     
  20. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,851
  21. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,851
    Did a quick scan however, why would I need to to powershell scripts if there is a GPO? Also the commands listed on the website do not seem to be working for me.
     
  22. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,397
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Actually it was a www.github.com website . Appears MS is using the "brute force" approach and blocking anything where code might be downloaded from. I would expect nothing else from SmartScreen which is basically worthless as far as actual malware detection goes.
     
  23. Martin_C

    Martin_C Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    525
    All settings work the same if GPO, PowerShell or registry.
    Here are just everything in one place with accompanying explanations.
    How you then activate them doesn't matter.
     
  24. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,851
    Wow talk about a fp lol.
     
  25. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,851
    Ok makes sense. But for whatever reason, ps commands did not work. Bottom line, it is not updating as I expect it should.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.