Windows Defender Is Becoming the Powerful Antivirus That Windows 10 Needs

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Secondmineboy, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. DeRodeKater

    DeRodeKater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Posts:
    27
    With that logic you can keep supplementing. Bugs and vulnerabilities exist in all AVs. Take this for example: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...multiple-antivirus-products-disclosed.435536/

    Best solution is to keep everything updated and use your mind. For questionable files you're downloading, check virustotal. And each vulnerability patched is one less.
     
  2. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    VPN city
    See my signature. It's never let me down.
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    How good is WD against ransomware?
     
  4. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    WD has become a top natch security suit. it has browser sandbox, system sandbox, anti-ransomware, anti-adware, anti-exploit, firewall, anti-malware , anti-virus, and anti-exe. Too bad they are in pro and above.
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Very true buddy I will run it with roguekiller
     
  6. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    I think running it with MBAM free would be better. For on-demand scan wise. Roguekiller on-demand detection is not that great compared to MBAM free. WD in win 10 pro has solid protection and MBAm free has great scanning detection rate. do not use MBAM pro with WD since MBAM pro turns WD off.
     
  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Ah I see
     
  8. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    943
    Location:
    Canada
    There's a setting in MBAM that allows it to run in real time without shutting WD off.
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    That's good news my friend;)
     
  10. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    realy where? I must have missed it. can you tell us where it is?
     
  11. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,278
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Settings > Security > scroll down to Windows Security Center > disable Always register Malwarebytes in the Windows Security Center.
     
  12. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    501
    Location:
    UK
    Running that very setup myself now. Works like a charm
     
  13. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    thanks.
     
  14. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    using WD harden only on a backup windows 10 pro (for windows games only) mini-pc.
     
  15. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    yeah. Main mini-pc is linux mint. living room mini-pc is chrome OS and now a backup mini-pc with win pro for game and another mini-pc in reserve with linux. lol
     
  16. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    I am ****** at AMD. They tricked me. I will buy intel in the future.
     
  17. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    I had saved some money to buy a brand new generation pc with the latest ryzen gen chip and when their 4th gen came out and bought it in a mini-pc . As soon as I bought the new 4th gen ryzen AMD processor (not even a month passed) mini-pc then they announced the 5th gen ryzen processor. If they had announced that the 4th gen was temporary then I would wait and get the 5th ryzen instead of wasting it on a 4th gen.
    I had saved some money to buy a brand new generation pc with the latest ryzen gen chip and when their 4th gen came out and bought it in a mini-pc . As soon as I bought the new 4th gen ryzen AMD processor (not even a month passed) mini-pc then they announced the 5th gen ryzen processor. If they had announced that the 4th gen was temporary then I would wait and get the 5th gen ryzen instead of wasting it on a 4th gen.
     
  18. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,789
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK cool, so the engine can be updated together with signatures, without having to download a full update via Windows Update.

    If services related to Win Update are disabled then it's indeed game over. I also believe that M$ should redesign it so that Win Defender isn't affected. Not sure if Tamper Protection takes care of this, I'm guessing it does not since several third party tools are capable of disabling Windows Update.
     
  19. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,214
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Here we go again with the strangely fast "Quick Scan." Now typically, this scan has been in the 20-30 sec range for 32,000+ items. After installing the 21H1 Windows 10 (insiders beta), now look at it.
    image_2021-02-17_213942.png

    Anyone else? These variations, no wonder I depend on my third parties for reality checks.
    Although, there's been no changelog for 21H1 yet, but they said it wouldn't be anything major. So any optimizing of Defender scans is still up in the air.
     
  20. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,374
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Capture.PNG My quick scan on 21H1
     
  21. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,214
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Thank you for checking. Today, I ran a Defender quick scan and this is the result. Like I said, glad I have third parties to rely on. :rolleyes: :cautious:

    image_2021-02-18_072220.png
     
  22. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,286
    and those 3rd parties are?
     
  23. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,214
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    AdwCleaner and paid HitmanPro. AdwC just came out with a much faster scan due to use of multi-threading. At first, it occurred to me that AdwC had sprinkled some fairy dust on Defender; hence the supersonic scan time. :argh:

    Defender is nice but sometimes you gotta have a backup for verification. :)
     
  24. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,286
    thanks plat. never used adw but hmp is pretty good.
     
  25. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    UK
    This I feel is dangerous. I do cringe a little when the typical thought process from your average computer user is "keep up to the date and you all good".

    Patches to fix vulnerabilities are always behind the curve, its a reaction approach.

    Having extra security layers for a "just in case" scenario is what is going to protect you against zero day. I read an article not long ago which was a real eye opener, It was a flaw in windows, where Microsoft initially patched it after weeks of the malware running rampant, but the fix was a lazy one, it didnt fix the core issue but instead just stopped that specific exploit, because of the attacker merely needed to tweak the exploit and it was rampant again. This happened 2-3 times before it was finally fixed properly.

    I would even go as far to say that someone with a really locked down OS that hasnt been patched for say 3 years is probably less vulnerable to someone running OOB config and patched up to date.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.