Windows 8 and Drive Imaging

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by JDGILL, Oct 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JDGILL

    JDGILL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    I've used ShadowProtect but my maintenance is over and Win 8 support seems some way off. Just wondering which imaging programs are compatible with Windows 8. I use imaging as my primary backup method (hot backups with regular incrementals) so any suggestions would be welcome.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i'm using Image for Windows, which works just as good on 8 as on 7.
     
  3. JDGILL

    JDGILL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    Yeah I like IFW except the lack of incrementals; that was what Shadow Protect does so well.
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i normally use ifw and active@ but active@ doesnt seen to have support yet for win 8 unless i missed it
     
  5. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    it does support windows 8 :thumb:
     
  6. JDGILL

    JDGILL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    What is active@ like speed wise for incrementals? With Shadow Protect I could do backups at four hourly intervals and each just took a minute or two.
     
  7. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    not sure as i only do full disk imaging which only takes around 3 mins. i think i did an incremental a while back and it took quite long so i dont think you will be impressed by its incremental speed. i will do a test now and confirm

    edit- well this puts the mental in incremental. just tried an incremental and it took longer than a minute so i cancelled it. i think it takes the same time as a full disk image because it must be checking all sectors even if the index shows no change in a particular sector. so if your looking for fast incrementals then Active@ is not for you.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2012
  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r

    ahh i see that now but what does the boot disk look like now is it still based on windows 7??
     
  9. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    it is still based on windows 7 sp1. dont see a reason for them to switch to windows 8, in fact i hope they dont as the OS used on the boot disk has no bearing on the disk being imaged by the boot disk.
     
  10. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    Using Acronis True Image Home 2013 and no issues as of yet.All works as it should.Tested recover from backup and it works perfectly.All is perfectly preserved.
     
  11. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    Offline imageing utilities like Clonezilla or PING should work without issues right?
     
  12. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,046
    Location:
    USA
    Using it also. No problems encountered yet.
     
  13. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    I use Macrium Reflect in Win8 and it works just fine. In fact, I used it to hop between my Win7 and Win8 images a few times until I finally settled with Win8. No issues.
     
  14. AbbyJack

    AbbyJack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Same here. Works great but I'm using the Pro version which is required for the GPT partition layout in the default Win8 install.
    I don't think the standard version would do the trick.
    Just a FWIW.:D
     
  15. mrfargoreed

    mrfargoreed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    356
    I'm also using Macrium Reflect free and restored several images perfectly so far without any problems. Very nice program.
     
  16. Niagara73

    Niagara73 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    France
  17. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    The 5.1.5299 update reinstall the complete program instead of just replacing updated .exes :\
     
  18. tej

    tej Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    India
    +1 Macrium Reflect Free

    I just completed imaging my Win 8 system with Macrium Reflect and backup folder weighs in at 5.4GB. Just prior to that I used the built-in "Windows 7 File recovery" imager which ended up with a hefty 15.1 gig image.
     
  19. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    I am looking for free offline imaging application for windows 8. I haven't used macrium. Is the macrium linux rescue cd enough to create and restore system partition? Can it be installed in usb using unetbootin or linux live usb creator?
     
  20. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    does Macrium Reflect free can backup inside windows 8/7 and also restore the image inside windows 8/7 OR we need aboot cd to make some how??

    same question for active@ disk image ...

    cheers :)
     
  21. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    I always backup inside and restore outside. Not sure how restoring inside works when you are running the OS. I can't imagine that being the best way.

    Unless you just want specific files restore. That I do inside.
     
  22. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    drive snapshot does a great work backup win 7 inside (not from boot cd ) , i just not sure DS works for win 8 x64.. :/
     
  23. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    While it will be quite a while before I leave W7 for W8, I'm pretty sure that DS will work perfectly with W8, especially considering that snapshot.exe (and snapshot64.exe) are portable executables!

    Cruise
     
  24. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    yes , i assume it may work for win 8 x64 , BUT i need to know for 100% coz i dont want to mess my system up using DS
     
  25. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    Sorry I have no way to give you 100% confirmation -- but I'm taking all bets! ;)

    PS. As you're an EF and SBIE user, I'm curious why you are going to W8 so soon (before EF and SBIE release W8-compatible versions)?
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.