Windows 7

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v4 Beta Forum' started by HRD, Jan 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HRD

    HRD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Will Smart Security v4 Beta work with Windows 7 Beta
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    Yes and no. Works for some and not for others. No idea why.
     
  3. HRD

    HRD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Well it works for me so far. No issues. Windows 7 is so good.
     
  4. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Works here too with Beta 1, no issues whatsoever.
     
  5. Director

    Director Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Yeah working for me on windows 7 64 bit.

    I have had to with some applications set their compatibility to 'vista' so that might be worth a try.
     
  6. qzex

    qzex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Apparently anything that works on Vista should work on 7.
     
  7. Kivstev

    Kivstev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Definitely not true. There are many programs out there that work well with Vista that will not work with Win7. Outpost 2009 and Daemon Tools are good examples.
     
  8. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Please keep in mind that both Microsoft Windows 7 and ESET Smart Security v4 are both in their respective beta test cycles.

    Some users may experience anomalous behavior based on hardware configuration, installed third party software and so forth.

    This is normal and expected behavior for beta code.

    If you come across an issue, please notify ESET and/or Microsoft as appropriate.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  9. HRD

    HRD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Any idea when ESET v4 will come out of Beta?
     
  10. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    No, this has been discussed a lot though.
     
  11. BuckoA51

    BuckoA51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    It's working OK for me here too apart from my problem with limited accounts and the firewall.
     
  12. mbmalone

    mbmalone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Posts:
    13
  13. HRD

    HRD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    That is news worth having.
     
  14. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    Eset Smart Security 4 Beta works well for me on Windows 7, both *64 & *86.
    Installed on 4 different pc's without issue.

    Noticed someone mentioned opera, also have version 10 alpha build
    1219 installed without any issues on one *64 pc.
     
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello,
    seems off topic but anyway opera 9.63 works great on windows 7.
     
  16. DOOOMKULTUS

    DOOOMKULTUS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Both Eset v4 beta as well as Opera 10 latest beta build working flawlessly for me on Windows 7 beta.

    p.s. 3 betas in 1 line.lol
     
  17. qpok

    qpok Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    I cannot update ESS (4.0.68.0, running on W7 32-bit 6.1.7000)

    Updater: retval = 0x1105, failures: 2, regretval = 0x0000 NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM
    Updater: compile error 6001 NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2009
  18. qzex

    qzex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Others have experienced this issue while not on Windows 7. As far as I can tell, reinstalling should fix it...
     
  19. qpok

    qpok Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Tried reinstalling. It did not resolve the issue.
     
  20. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    Just installed Eset Smart Security v4 on W7 64-bit and so far so good! The only thing I've noticed is in the Action Center under anti-virus and anti-spyware it states that "Eset Smart Security 3.0...." - shouldn't it say 4.0? Just an observation.
     
  21. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    This will be addressed in a future build.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  22. qpok

    qpok Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    For some reason the update works if I use the beta account (username : updv4
    Password : upd4test). My ESS license is valid (checked with the "Verify license validity" under help menu) but for some it reason does not work with the update.
     
  23. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    The beta credentials must be used by the v4 betas for signature update downloads. Credentials used with v3 and v2 will not work.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  24. ottomatik

    ottomatik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Running Smart Security 4 on Win 7 x64 here and its working great. Had one minor (huge) issue though. If I switch the firewall to interactive filtering mode, the next time I reboot I am unable to log in. After I put in my password I just get a black screen and nothing else happens, no ctrl+alt+del ability, nothing. Booting to safe mode and changing the AdvancedMode value from 1 to 0 in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ESET\ESET Security\CurrentVersion\Plugins\01000200\Profiles\@My profile to switch back to Automatic mode fixes the problem. I switched back and forth about 4 times to make sure it was Interactive Mode filtering that was causing the issue.
     
  25. dogonit

    dogonit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Just installed and updated Eset Smart Security v4 new build win 7 64x. No issues at all :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.