Windows 7...worth the upgrade?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Luxeon, Aug 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Luxeon

    Luxeon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    127
    I have Vista X64. No problems with it...but, it feels kinda slow sometimes, especially at startup. It isn't severe, but it is noticeable.

    BUT, I can get Windows 7 ultimate (legally) for $20 through my employer.

    Is it worth the upgrade?

    Also, is the install difficult? (my wife likes how things are set up so I would hate to have to re-do everything).

    Thanks,
    Bob
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    what are the specifications of your computer and what software do you have installed?
    give make and model if possible.
     
  3. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    For $20 I would buy it even if I didn't plan on using it right away.

    Sul.
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I would go for it too. Win 7 is much lighter, more responsive, and generally quicker than Vista.... after you use 7, you won't believe that you put up with Vista for so long. Do a clean install of 7.
     
  5. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    +1
    Note that with win 7 ultimate, you also get access to an XP virtual machine.
    $20 for an upgrade + a free XP virtual machine = good deal :D
     
  6. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    For $20.. go for it! :D

    Windows 7 is very easy to install. If you managed it in Vista, then Windows 7 will be no problem at all.

    Compared to Vista, Windows 7 is superior in every way. :cool:
     
  7. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,108
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    Definitely go for it. Your PC will run faster and smoother compared to Vista and you'll realise just how annoying Vista really is. Win7 is what Vista should have been all along. Microsoft should reallly be giving it away for free to Vista users along with a 'sorry' note and a box of chocolates :D
     
  8. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Another vote to go for it. :thumb:

    Although I usually run XP Home and Pro, I have Vista Ultimate (32 bit) and have tried Windows 7.
    As previously stated, W-7 is superior in responsiveness and offers enhancements above and beyond what you can get from Vista.

    For $20.00, I think it's a great deal for you !
     
  9. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    Plus you get Applocker with ultimate :thumb:
     
  10. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have Vista and Win 7, and personally, to me they are the same. I could care less about the OS to be honest. I have UAC turned off, run as Admin and maintain a solid backup. Enjoy your computers.:D
     
  11. microbial

    microbial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    UK
    Buy it now buy it now buy it now! :)
     
  12. Luxeon

    Luxeon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    127
    I have a Dell Inspiron 530, with a 500Gb hard drive, Vista X64 Home Premium, 4Gb RAM, Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2220 @ 2.40Ghz.

    Do you mean all of the software installed? Here are the highlights:
    Software: Microsoft Security Essentials, SAS Free, Windows Live Mail, Windows Live Photo gallery, Office 2007 (Outlook, Word, Power Point, Excel and I think a couple of others), Firefox, IE8, Adobe Reader, Polaroid My Memories Suite, Acronis, DVD Fab and a few others. UAC on, Firewall on, Router...shrimp ice cream, shrimp cocktail, shrimp gumbo, shrimp burger...that is about it. :D

    I admit that a clean install kinda freaks me out a bit. Is it really that much superior to installing over Vista?

    Bob
     
  13. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    No question about it, you dont even have Pro which has software restriction policies; definitely get ultimate it its Applocker security feature (= next gen software restriction policies)
     
  14. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    You won't be comparing apples to apples if you do a clean install of 7, you will be comparing apples to oranges, as a clean install of Vista itself would probably be faster than your current one. Clean installs almost always are.

    If you do decide to do a clean install, I would highly recommend you check some of the threads out regarding imaging. Make some images at specific points: right after install/activation ; after a good number of your apps/settings are in place ; after just about all your apps/settings are in place. This way, you don't have to do a clean install again, you can just put the image back on, and you have a few different points to go back to, depending on whether you wanted to start over with what you want to install/configure.

    It does take awhile to configure a clean install to "just the way I like it" feel. Get hooked on imaging and then a whole new world begins to open for you.

    Sul.
     
  15. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Windows Seven Ultimate for just $20 o_O
    -What are you waiting for? :D
     
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,123
    Location:
    USA
    .
    FWIW I've done a couple of Vista to 7 upgrades and they completed successfully. I would recommend a few things by way of preparation:

    Make sure that your hardware (printers, scanners, etc) is supported in 7. In most cases if it works in Vista it will work in 7, but you don't want any surprises, right?

    Run disk cleanup and also delete all System Restore points.

    Run CCleaner to get rid of additional detritus.

    Disable all auto-starting third party apps (Winpatrol is good for this).

    Uninstall all third party toolbars from Internet Explorer.

    Do Full Scans of the system with your AV and also something like MBAM to make sure you don't have malware.

    Run Check Disk with the auto-fix option enabled.

    Uninstall your antivirus software.

    Boot from the Windows 7 DVD and run the Upgrade!


    Doing the above will make the upgrade go faster and reduce the chance of a screwup. By the way, upgrading can easily take 2-3 hours, so allow enough time and don't worry about how friggin long it's taking :)

    Good luck and enjoy 7.
     
  17. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    I liked XP and I liked Vista

    would never go back to using either.
     
  18. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Win7 has something about it for me anyway, that makes it what I want to use rather than XP. XP is faster, snappier in almost all respects IMO. But, I find myself enjoying the changes that 7 brought, and I find they are more productive. I never thought I would say that, but I finally have.

    Vista to 7, for what little I have used Vista, it always felt less than XP. Win7 feels almost comparable speed wise.. almost.

    Sul.
     
  19. Luxeon

    Luxeon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    127
    Excellent info, folks--many thanks!
    I picked up the program today.

    In looking at my computer, it has only been in use for a bit over a year. It has been very well-maintained without a zillion files or programs, so I think I will try an upgrade first, and convert to a clean install if the results aren't to my liking...but, I intend to research the process a bit more, so a clean install isn't out of the question.

    My statement above was probably inaccurate regarding speed. Bootup isn't extremely slow, but it isn't lightning either. Maybe a minute or so (need to time it).
    Once stabilized, it is pretty quick...and it is blazingly fast compared to my old XP machine.

    My wife relies upon our primary computer for work, so I have to make sure I can get it back up in a reasonable amount of time.
    Might end up sleeping in the garage if I screw up!

    The reason a clean install spooks me a bit is because I have only done a single clean install. It went ok, but I did have to do a lot of digging and tinkering to get things right. That was on my old 2001 XP box (defective hard drive), which I am typing from now.

    For Vicktek123: Your recommendations make sense, but why would I disable auto-starting third-party software and uninstall my AV software (MSE)?

    Secondarily: Can't I disable startup programs via the operating system, rather than using another app (selective startup)?
     
  20. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667

    Win 7 has an easier install procedure than XP, many of the drivers are found automatically. It helps if your laptop manufacturer has a list of win 7 driver downloads on its webpage that you can donwload beforehand...
     
  21. Luxeon

    Luxeon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    127
    I just ran the upgrade adviser and was surprised to discover that Acronis TI 10.0.4942 is incompatible with Windows 7. Bummer.
    Any workarounds? I like Acronis. If not, I can utilize the W7 backup utility.

    I will backup the data only in native format using Synctoy.
     
  22. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
  23. mistycat

    mistycat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    222
    Macrium Reflect (free) works fine with W7 and has a Boot CD (I think just no incrementals) or ATI just released their 2011 version (I don't know if this is just for 2010 owners but I got an offer to upgrade for $10.00 and you can anyway for $30.00) Make a backup of Vista with Macrium and if anything messes up you can be sure of recovery. Edit:just noticed it's Vista 64, MR works with W7-64 so should with Vista, kind of ambiguous about it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2010
  24. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Outer space
    From what I understand 7 is lighter and more stable than Vista, but how about security? Lots of advertised features like default UAC, DEP, ASLR, Patchguard etc. are also in Vista. They redesigned the security center and UAC has more levels to make it more user friendly, but things like that don't improve security. Is 7 more secure than Vista?
     
  25. Luxeon

    Luxeon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    127
    Thanks for the info, Wearetheborg.
    Is True Image the same as Backup and Recovery Workstation?

    Wait a minute: I checked more info, and it appears that under "older Acronis products" it lists TI 10 Home, which is what I have...and apparently it is not supported by any of the Windows 7 products.
    Strange that it seems to work ok with Vista.

    Maybe I will try Macrium Reflect...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.