Windows 7 service pack 1

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by trjam, Nov 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I had to reimage a computer that didnt have FD-ISR, unfortunatly I cant get service pack one installed just like a year ago.

    before i spend all night googleing it, can someone please post the easiest way.
     
  2. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    Get the offline installer? KB976932

    If you still ahve issues, post the error .log so the geeks can take a look at it :D
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,916
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Moved Thread to Proper Forum for More Exposure!
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    well that didnt work
     
  5. HKEY1952

    HKEY1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    648
    Location:
    HKEY/SECURITY/ (value not set)
    First be certain to use MICROSOFT UPDATE Not Windows Update
    On the Windows Update Site Click on 'Use Microsoft Update' (this can still be toggled)

    It is best to switch over to Microsoft Update NOW because Microsoft is slowly phasing out Windows Update, also,
    Microsoft Update is the Mother Ship for Microsoft Security Essentials Updates.

    (01) Switch to Microsoft Update
    (02) In Windows, Enable Automatic Updates and wait for an few days to see if Windows 7 SP1 Installs, if not:


    Troubleshoot problems installing a service pack for Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008 R2:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/troubleshootwindows7sp1

    Microsoft Support:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2498452

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2505743

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/976932

    http://windows.microsoft.com/installwindows7sp1

    What is Windows Update?
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows/help/windows-update


    HKEY1952
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
    What happens when you try to install it?
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Error WindowsUpdate_80004005" "WindowsUpdate_dt000"
     
  8. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Easiest way is to just reformat, and then install all updates in the order that Win Updates wants to give them to you... Otherwise you'll spend days trying to figure out something ridiculously obscure....
     
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    already did that
     
  10. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
  11. HKEY1952

    HKEY1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    648
    Location:
    HKEY/SECURITY/ (value not set)
    I believe the solution to your problem exists in Post #10 by Dermot7 trjam


    HKEY1952
     
  12. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2011
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    nope, did not work. I hate Microsoft.
     
  14. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Time for Linux? :)
     
  15. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Did you run windows readiness tool that may help,run that then do a disk clean up or run ccleaner reboot,then try reinstall.I had errors and if not mistaken thats what did the trick for me if memory serves.
     
  16. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    When SP1 came out, I thought I remembered reading that there were a few critical/required updates that had to be in place for SP1 to install and succeed. You might also check and make sure all necessary updates are indeed installed. You have probably already done this, but just a thought.
     
  17. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    It took me four tries to get it installed. The first two I gave up after about five hours. The download stalled at 33 percent but CPU was running very high. The download folder was constantly extracting the files. The third time I let it run until it installed. It took 24 hours and some change to install. All seemed well except that I had lost the Aero features. Played with it for a few hours trying to get Aero back and gave up. No reg hacks or anything I tried would make it work. I rolled it back. A few months later which was last week, I gave it one last, last try, it took about one hour. Lost Aero again but this time I decided to go into device manager and roll back the graphics driver and chipset drivers. Aero worked after that.
     
  18. HKEY1952

    HKEY1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    648
    Location:
    HKEY/SECURITY/ (value not set)
  19. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    screw it, this is a cheap netbook. But another reason why the only money Microcrap will get money out of me is on the intial purchase. This is exactly what I went through last winter and dont remember how it was resolved but not wasting my time again on crap from Phil Bates.;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.