Windows 7 RC (7100) and AV's

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Fajo, May 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Any idea how windows 7 is treating AV's. So far I have installed Avira, Nod32, Norton and a few others only one that seems to give me any troubles is nod32 it seems to BOSD the system.

    Hows everyone elses experience with security software thats trying this OS out ? :D


    Edit.
    Just a FYI Every time I install a AV I image back to a clean state so they don't conflict so I know it's not that.
     
  2. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    The free versions of Avast and Avira have worked perfectly for me.
    Those are the only antivirus applications I've tried.
     
  3. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,780
    Likewise here, I have used Avira Premium and Avast Free, both work great on Windows 7 x64 RC. No issues whatsoever. I hear Norton and some of the other big boys work as well.
     
  4. NickHSunbelt

    NickHSunbelt Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    VIPRE is working properly on Windows 7 except at the moment it is not communicating properly with the Action Center. The format used for this was changed in RC1. It was working properly in the beta though. An update for VIPRE should be coming along soon to resolve that problem. Until then you can disable the notifications from Action Center and everything else works fine.
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    .
    So far I've tried Avast, AVG Free and Norton Internet Security 2009 beta. I suggest staying away from the NIS2009 beta. Avast and AVG both work OK. I prefer Avast since it seems to have less impact on performance.
     
  6. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    The other day I installed the latest official release of CIS (Comodo Internet Security) minus the Ask Toolbar. It is my first time to used CIS. I haven't noticed any problems. I read somewhere that CIS is considered Windows 7 compatible.
     
  7. masqueofhastur

    masqueofhastur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    Avira Free seems to be working fine so far (for the past couple days). Aside from not updating initially.
     
  8. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Trying Eset and Comodo together right now to see how they function so far so good. I like this OS alot better then vista. :D
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    No more NOD32 BOSD's?
     
  10. mm79k

    mm79k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Panda for windows 7, Kaspersky for windows 7, avast home and professional, AVG free, Avira free all worked well here.

    CIS is confirmed working on 7 by some people but it caused some issues on my system for some reasons o_O

    using avira premium at the moment with no issues on RC build 7127
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2009
  11. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    570
    Location:
    Bosnia
    I'm using NOD32 since Windows 7 has been released
    Works like a charm...I haven't had any BOSD's
     
  12. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Microsoft Released a Compatibility patch. Sense then I have not had any BOSD's.

    Ill leave this AV and Firewall running over the next few days see how it works then move on to the next. :D

    Current CIS is also working (without AV installed) Have Firewall and Defense enabled at max.
     
  13. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    F-Secure ISTP (BETA) last build is working here without problems...
     
  14. IceDogg

    IceDogg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Don't know if you consider Prevx 3.0.1.65 AV or not, but it works on Win7 7100

    PS. x64
     
  15. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    Comodo Internet Security works on Windows 7. Only problem is the Windows Security Center one I believe... But other then that it's compatible.

    Cheers,
    Josh
     
  16. GuillermoTell

    GuillermoTell Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Dr Web don´t work properly in Windows 7, the resident protection (guard) does not start correctly.

    Lavasoft Anti-Virus Helix is installed correctly but the CPU usage goes to 100%.
    The strange thing is that this is a version of Avira made especially for lavasoft to which only you made some changes in appearance. :gack:

    Cheers.
     
  17. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
  18. yaslaw

    yaslaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Poland
    KIS 2010 Relase Candidate is also working well.
     
  19. mm79k

    mm79k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    just installed Rising AV 2009 and it's working very light and with no issues so far. I am on build 7201 :)
     
  20. BG

    BG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Posts:
    214
    Have to agree with ...quanzi... pre-release versions (not public yet) of Norton IS 2009 is running very smooth and quiet for me.
     
  21. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    I am currently Trying Eset, Kasper, Norton, Avria for AV's on 7201 also trying Zone Alarm, Online Armor, Comodo, Outpost and a few others for Firewall's

    Again I reimage back after all installs.


    So far out of that bunch only Online Armor and Kasper has gave any of my computers problems. But I'm also unsure if its there fault or not as this OS is also still in beta, even tho its been released for RC.
     
  22. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    If you're interested there's also BullGuard which has been (recently) compatible with windows 7.

    Code:
    http://www.bullguard.com/windows7.aspx
    For more information: Bullguard is using BitDefender's engine ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.