Windows 7 Network Access Protection

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by ro2, Sep 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ro2

    ro2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Is there an ETA for full support of Windows 7 64-bit?

    I use Network Access Protection and it's not working with NOD32 AV 4.0.

    Everything else in NOD32 is working ok, but when I check the Security Health Agent it's not initializing. In the Action Center the AV is listed as On. I've tried using AVG Free and the SHA initializes correctly on the same PC.

    Code:
    C:\>netsh nap client show state
    
    Client state:
    ----------------------------------------------------
    Name                   = Network Access Protection Client
    Description            = Microsoft Network Access Protection Client
    Protocol version       = 1.0
    Status                 = Enabled
    Restriction state      = Not restricted
    Troubleshooting URL    =
    Restriction start time =
    Extended state         =
    GroupPolicy            = Configured
    
    Enforcement client state:
    ----------------------------------------------------
    Id                     = 79617
    Name                   = DHCP Quarantine Enforcement Client
    Description            = Provides DHCP based enforcement for NAP
    Version                = 1.0
    Vendor name            = Microsoft Corporation
    Registration date      =
    Initialized            = No
    
    Id                     = 79619
    Name                   = IPsec Relying Party
    Description            = Provides IPsec based enforcement for Network Access Protection
    Version                = 1.0
    Vendor name            = Microsoft Corporation
    Registration date      =
    Initialized            = No
    
    Id                     = 79621
    Name                   = RD Gateway Quarantine Enforcement Client
    Description            = Provides RD Gateway enforcement for NAP
    Version                = 1.0
    Vendor name            = Microsoft Corporation
    Registration date      =
    Initialized            = No
    
    Id                     = 79623
    Name                   = EAP Quarantine Enforcement Client
    Description            = Provides Network Access Protection enforcement for EAP authenticated network connections, such as those used with 802.1X and
    VPN technologies.
    Version                = 1.0
    Vendor name            = Microsoft Corporation
    Registration date      =
    Initialized            = Yes
    
    System health agent (SHA) state:
    ----------------------------------------------------
    Id                     = 79744
    Name                   = Windows Security Health Agent
    
    Description            = The Windows Security Health Agent monitors security settings on your computer.
    
    Version                = 1.0
    
    Vendor name            = Microsoft Corporation
    
    Registration date      =
    [COLOR="Red"]Initialized            = No[/COLOR]
    Failure category       = None
    Remediation state      = Success
    Remediation percentage = 0
    Fixup Message          = (0) -
    
     
  2. ro2

    ro2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Scratch that, it works ok when the PC isn't a member of the domain. It must be a group policy causing it to fail.
     
  3. ro2

    ro2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Just in case anyone finds this in a search, the problem I had was group policy. The group policy was set to start a few services automatically (windows update etc) and there were explicit permissions set for each service.

    That worked ok for Windows XP, but Windows 7 didn't like it. Removing the permissions fixed everything.
     
  4. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Hello ro2,

    We will start officially supporting Windows 7 when it is released to the public by Microsoft.

    The permissions are something to watch out for when installing the ESET software because it needs to be able to access all parts of the system to function properly.
     
  5. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.