Windows 7 Firewall Control Question?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by TheMozart, Jun 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I run MS Vista and installed the latest version of Windows 7 Firewall Control by Sphinxsoftware.

    My question is...once I install it and have it running, do I need to turn OFF the Vista firewall? Or do I have Vista Firewall running + Windows 7 Firewall Control? If so, won't those 2 firewalls clash?
     
  2. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    341

    Straight from the Windows7FirewallControl site. Under the F.A.Q. section.
     
  3. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I don't understand :blink:

    So what's the best thing to do? Leave Vista firewall ON or turn it OFF?
     
  4. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,648
    http://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/faq.html

    -----8<----------------------------------------------
    Windows 7 Firewall Control and the Built-in Firewall
    Windows7FirewallControl is based on Windows Filtering Platform (WFP), the
    security core of Windows7/Vista/2008 completely and does not install any third
    party kernel drivers. The Built-in Firewall is based on the same WFP as well. The
    both products work independently entirely. You can switch the Built-in Firewall
    ON or OFF at your option due to complete product independence.
     
  5. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Windows 7 Firewall Control does not work with Truecrypt virtual drives. Windows 7 Firewall Control keeps "forgetting" the programs that run from the TrueCrypt drive and every single day I have to tell Windows 7 Firewall Control to enable a program.
     
  6. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,648
    it remembers path/program - if changed, it forget, that simple.
    Maybe it should have access to the TC container.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.