Windows 7 Firewall Control Question?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by TheMozart, Jun 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I run MS Vista and installed the latest version of Windows 7 Firewall Control by Sphinxsoftware.

    My question is...once I install it and have it running, do I need to turn OFF the Vista firewall? Or do I have Vista Firewall running + Windows 7 Firewall Control? If so, won't those 2 firewalls clash?
     
  2. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340

    Straight from the Windows7FirewallControl site. Under the F.A.Q. section.
     
  3. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I don't understand :blink:

    So what's the best thing to do? Leave Vista firewall ON or turn it OFF?
     
  4. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    http://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/faq.html

    -----8<----------------------------------------------
    Windows 7 Firewall Control and the Built-in Firewall
    Windows7FirewallControl is based on Windows Filtering Platform (WFP), the
    security core of Windows7/Vista/2008 completely and does not install any third
    party kernel drivers. The Built-in Firewall is based on the same WFP as well. The
    both products work independently entirely. You can switch the Built-in Firewall
    ON or OFF at your option due to complete product independence.
     
  5. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Windows 7 Firewall Control does not work with Truecrypt virtual drives. Windows 7 Firewall Control keeps "forgetting" the programs that run from the TrueCrypt drive and every single day I have to tell Windows 7 Firewall Control to enable a program.
     
  6. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    it remembers path/program - if changed, it forget, that simple.
    Maybe it should have access to the TC container.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.