Windows 64-bit. Office 64-bit or 32-bit?

Discussion in 'polls' started by PJC, Jan 13, 2013.

?

Windows 64-bit and...?

  1. Office 64-bit

    59.2%
  2. Office 32-bit

    44.9%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    What & WHY
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    I'm using 32 bit because I have Office 2007 and there is no 64 bit disk or option. I think 64 bit probably only applies to Office 2010 or later. There are still people who use Office 2007, 2003 and possibly 2000, which are only 32 bit.
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Office 2010 64bit as I use Win 7 64bit not really any preference though.

    TH
     
  4. The Shadow

    The Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Location:
    USA
    Office 2010 x64 with Win 7 x64 - as I believe that most 64-bit apps will execute faster on 64-bit Windows than the 32-bit app counterpart. ;)

    TS
     
  5. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I would choose any, personally i don't notice any difference at all. :rolleyes:
     
  6. er34

    er34 Guest

    I voted both - 32 and 64 bit versions.

    As per the vendor recommendations:
    • 64-bit is for the advanced users who would know what they are doing and for those who won't be running some unpopular add-ins for the Office.
    • 32-bit version is for everybody.

    On theory 64-bit should be slightly faster ; I have never compared both, so I personally can't tell the speed difference.
    On 32-bit version of Office all add-ins should work well (extensions such as from antivirus software, social media plugins, other useful or junky plugins for Office).

    As far as I know only Office 2010 and now 2013 have both 32/64 bit versions.
     
  7. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    What? Microsoft Office 2010 Professional Plus 32-bit.

    Why? To avoid problems.
     
  8. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Office 2010 Pro x64. At the time, I wanted to see if I would have issues, and I didn't. Since it worked okay, I left it.
     
  9. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    I'm using 64-bit Office Pro Premium 2010, but recently I tried to install the R plugin for MS Excel (R is statistical programming language), and found out that it's only available for the 32-bit version of Excel. I originally installed the 64-bit office for no particular reason - just seemed more natural for 64-bit Windows 7 and I assumed it might be a bit more secure and a little bit faster, but in hindsight maybe I should have gone with the 32-bit version for greater compatibility.
     
  10. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    After checking Microsoft site,my understanding is Office 2010 loads 32 bit. I have a disk and it does not give you a choice.
     
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    2010 should also have 64 bit on the disk. You may have to open the disk in Explorer, and run the 64 bit setup file from the 64 bit folder etc....

    Edit: If you don't manually choose 64 bit, it automatically defaults to 32 bit I believe...
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2013
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Still running Office 2007 32 bit at home, and Office 2010 64 bit at work.
     
  13. The Shadow

    The Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Location:
    USA
    That's quite dated and Office 2010 x64 has since been refined with SP1, etc.
     
  14. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    You're right, next time I'll be installing the x64 version.
     
  15. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Correct! :thumb:
     
  16. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I will install MS Office Professional Plus 2013 32-bit the day after tomorrow on a 64-bit machine.
    Both 32-bit and 62-bit are on the same DVD.
     
  17. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I tried both and they are the same thing IMO. :D
     
  18. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    I'd go with 64-bit, simply because I have a 64-bit machine.
     
  19. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    In general, I'd say 64-bit, but most people it's transparent.
    I got my own copy of a 32-bit office for 9 bucks, so that's what I have.
    Mrk
     
  20. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Office 2013 64 bit on Windows 8 Pro 64 bit. It is a little snappier than the 32 bit, especially where Outlook is concerned. Unfortunately Norton still refuses to support it. I think they are the last ones that don't.
     
  21. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    I have possibility to use other offices, but I use only office 2003 on all my comps, including 64-bit. I don't feel any need to go beyond 2003 yet.
     
  22. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    If its a 64bit machine Office 64, because I have come across this issue using Office 32 on a 64bit machine trying to get an Access database talking to SQL Server (64bit).
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...onfusion/8feaa560-0e04-49d5-b654-89ad3cb996ad

    Forcing an install does the 64bit ODBC does lead to "wacky behaviour" as mentioned (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/...ss-odbc-drivers-when-32-bit-office-is-present)

    Of course if you have addins that are 32bit (which I dont use any off) your are completely stuck !

    Cheers, Nick
     
Loading...