windows 2003 server

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ashley, May 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ashley

    ashley Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Hello.

    I'm new here. I have a HP ML 110 Server with a 80 GB SATA Harddisk inside. OS is Windows 2003 Server. This Server is a Domain Controller.

    Partition C: 18GB (OS)
    Partition D: ~54 GB (Data)

    I installed a new SATA- RAID Controller

    RAID 1
    2 x 160 GB SATA Harddisk

    Now i will copy the system from the 80 GB SATA HD to the RAID Array.
    With Symantec Ghost 2003 i had a lot of problems (damaged files, etc.). Is True Image able to do that?

    sorry for my very bad english.
    greets ashley
     
  2. napoleon

    napoleon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Posts:
    110
    Ashley,

    If you clone the disk from its current location to the new array, this should work. Sometimes - when you switch RAID controllers or add a new one - the system won't adapt properly. However, since you are going from RAID 0 to RAID 1 (and Windows will see the RAID 1 as RAID 0 provided you created the array at the hardware level), this may work. Good luck!
     
  3. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Ahsley, You'd better split data and system over 2 logical disks.

    Server 2003 should run at least on 2 times 2 disks in mirror, or a mirrored file system and raid5 data. Adding Exchange, you should make a partition on the system disks just for the transaction logs to be split from the database.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.