Windows 11 leak reveals new UI, Start menu, and more

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Jun 15, 2021.

  1. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    893
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  2. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    893
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Microsoft patch and AMD chipset driver are out:
    https://www.amd.com/en/support/kb/faq/pa-400
     
  3. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,215
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
  4. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,775
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    This is terrible for Micro. For example I sit with a brand spanking new Dell sporting windows 10 and yet there's nothing in the updates setting encouraging upgrade to Windows 11 now. So I won't bother yet. All that yackity yack about the new Windows 11 and yet no ambition to roll in out on a new machine quite compatible on all requirements.

    No matter. Windows 8.1 units I rely on are performing on a same regular basis with no issues as usual. Almost wish they would refine that O/S and name it Windows 9. The one they skipped.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,300
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    EASTER,

    If you want to upgrade to Win11 I suggest you use an ISO rather than use Windows Update. You will finish with a few more GB of free space on your SSD.
     
  6. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,742
    Depends on whether poster Easter wants to do in an in place upgrade or a fresh install. ISO definitely if he wants to nuke Windows 10 and start over.
     
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,071
    @XIII @xxJackxx For now, you can get updates, and I highly doubt that will change. However, it remains to be seen if I'll get feature updates via Windows Update.
    I don't know what to make of Microsoft's reliability claims. But since you don't have to have supported hardware to run Windows 11, it not really an issue in my opinion. My ThinkPad has GPT and Secure Boot, but nothing else.
    The bug I have with File Explorer is that when I use the arrow keys to scroll up and down, it lags quite a bit. But, other than that, everything else is working fine, and I haven't rebooted my laptop for nearly two weeks.

    There are a few minor issues showing in Reliability Monitor. If not for your post, I would never have thought to have a look there, as it's something I usually never open.
     
  8. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,775
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Thanks @Brian K. I keep seeing reviews speed is better and I always been one for that performance boost. If and when the time seems right I will use your suggestion.
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,300
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    EASTER, I don't think Win11 is any faster than Win10. About the same in my experience.

    On the other hand, a fresh Win11 install is no faster than my 20 month old Win10 to Win11 upgrade. The upgrade doesn't lose performance. I have them on the same SSD so comparison is easy.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2021
  10. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,775
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    As long as it is stable and productive able the same speed/performance is ok too.
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,300
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Stable here. Not one issue.
     
  12. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,742
    Unless you're a power user, there's no reason to be on the rolling channel. For the vast majority of users the stable channel is more than good enough.
     
  13. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,744
    Location:
    USA
    I tried it on a PC yesterday where I was able to convert everything but no TPM. From my understanding the CPU supports PTT but it is not exposed in the BIOS/UEFI settings. My attempt to install 11 from the ISO was blocked for no TPM. I tried some of the registry edits I have found and still a no go. I'm sure there ways around it but I have not found a working one yet.
     
  14. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,071
  15. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,742
    99% of the time people with older PCs seldom have an issue with TPM/secure boot. The only thing that keeps them from upgrading is their processor and the hindrance there is the fault of the installer and not the actual hardware.
     
  16. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,630
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,744
    Location:
    USA
    Nice. This is going to make me try harder to get it running on one of these old Dells.
     
  18. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,215
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Nice--something to do on a rainy day. Hope it'll be worth the effort. :thumb: I would hate to see functioning-but-old machines languishing on the vine or worse: in landfills.
     
  19. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,495
    Avoid all the unnecessary W11 prereqs and extract the install.wim from your iso. Use WinNtSetup to install.
     
  20. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,744
    Location:
    USA
    Unfortunately I have tried 4 different "solutions" for trying to bypass the TPM requirement and it won't let me continue. I'm giving up, at least for now.
     
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,744
    Location:
    USA
    Looks interesting but I was hoping for an upgrade.
     
  22. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,495
    Win 11 Boot And Upgrade FiX KiT v2.0 There's a tutorial there for upgrading. Never used it since I never do upgrades and with WinNTSetup no iso hacking needed.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2021
  23. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,744
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the info. Multiple posts say I have to login to view the content. As I'm currently at work it's not something I am able to explore in the short term.
     
  24. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,707
    Updated:
     
  25. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    893
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.