Windows 11 leak reveals new UI, Start menu, and more

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Jun 15, 2021.

  1. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,213
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Oh,your processor isn't on the supported list? Wow. Yes, I read where Microsoft approved only 2 or 3 Kaby Lake ones for its Surface line. Some are bypassing that requirement with a registry edit and successfully running Windows 11 but many say they're backing off Windows 11 for now.

    Even though one can enable the BIOS TPM on the ASUS mainboard, I got my TPM chip from Newegg for like 15 USD w/free shipping, right before the mad TPM rush back in July. Now I see the same thing selling for 70 USD on eBay. Terrible--anything is up for scalping nowadays.
     
  2. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,213
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hmm, getting another cumulative update here: KB5006476--downloading now. Anyone else?
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,925
    No. Isn't that an old update?
     
  4. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,742
    Wasn't that the Tuesday update patch?
     
  5. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,213
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Nope. Changed my winver to 22000.282. The KB numbers are very close to last Tuesday's--so it can be confusing. But it seems to be a legit update. But when I click the link to get more info on it, I get a 404. OK, so maybe later.
    winverfri10152021.png

    two similar kbs.png

    Edit: Gandalf_The_Gray posted the changelog at MalwareTips. Very nice. :) For Beta people.

    https://malwaretips.com/threads/windows-11-first-look.108697/page-43#post-961248
     
  6. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,925
    Gotcha. I am not on the beta so that is why I did not get it lol. Thanks.
     
  7. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,213
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Yes, but it seems to be a potentially very important one for Ryzen users, according to the MT -posted article. There is a cache issue for Ryzens that slows their performance on Windows 11--and was made worse with Tuesday's update. This is hopeful news as this big issue was just discussed earlier in this thread. The performance penalties seemed excessive.

    Hope it works for Ryzen people.
     
  8. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,925
    I am currently testing a Ryzen based laptop. Wish I could install it lol.
     
  9. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,742
    I just kept the stable version on the Beta Channel, unenrolled from the Insiders Program and then updated on Tuesday.
     
  10. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,925
    I did that at work until I got the Enterprise ISO. Since then I did clean installs on both of my machines.
     
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,439
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Fixes for AMD Ryzen performance, other Windows 11 issues rolling out to testers now
    https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/202...windows-11-issues-rolling-out-to-testers-now/
     
  12. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,742
    Those fixes will be rolled out to the rest of us next month.
     
  13. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,213
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Now Bleeping Computer says the AMD performance issue in 11 is only "partially fixed." The cache issue is fixed but the "preferred core" issue isn't, according to this article here. "Preferred core" means the fastest core and the scheduling of tasks to utilize that core first, like that article stated.

    ETA for fixes "by end of this month" as an optional update.

    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ne...282-fixes-cpu-performance-issues-taskbar-bug/
     
  14. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,742
    I'm not in a hurry. Badly compiled patches create more problems than they solve.
     
  15. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,700
    Windows 11 File Explorer may slow down PCs
    October 17, 2021
    https://www.ghacks.net/2021/10/17/windows-11-file-explorer-may-slow-down-pcs/
     
  16. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,700
  17. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    956
    Location:
    usa
    I've succumbed to that Windows 11 and installed it on my Laptop.
    Now, my right click does not work on my browser exe. files; therefore, I can't start the normal way a Sandboxed browser.
     
  18. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,742
    I'm staying on the stable version. I'm done being being a guinea pig for Microsoft's unstable Windows 11 builds in the Insider Program.
     
  19. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,742
    Are you running Sandboxie? Windows 10 software as a general rule, should run in Windows 11. Of course an update could help here with the issue you're experiencing.
     
  20. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    956
    Location:
    usa
    My problem is slightly different.

    In Windows 11, I can't right click on any program - like I did/do with Windows 10 - and either run as Admin, run in Sandboxie, copy, paste, etc...
    I can right-click on a picture and open it, copy, paste, etc... but not on any program.
    Let's say, I have my most used programs, browsers in a folder. On Windows 10, I would right click on a/any Browser and run it Sandboxed.
    I can't do it on my Windows 11. After I try to right click on Edge, Osiris, Firefox, etc... browser/s, within a few seconds, my folder is closed. I've googled about it and, suddenly, discovered that it's a big issue, especially, for Windows 11.
     
  21. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,742
    Your Windows 11 is corrupt. Right click should bring up the context menu.
     
  22. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,300
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    zmechys,

    If you right click a tile in the Pinned Start Menu, do you get a context menu?
     
  23. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,213
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Speaking of the right-click, anyone notice a delay when right-clicking View/Show desktop items? Specifically, when restoring the desktop icons after you've initially hidden them? Also noticed after this last cumulative update for Beta channel, there's a sign-in window again when computer is awakened from sleep. Can't see any way to delete that, I've searched online already. Nothing works. :'(
     
  24. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    956
    Location:
    usa
    I can(!) right click on any folder or file, like a photo, video, mp3, etc...
    But I cannot right click on any executive file, any App, any browser. It crashes - it closes the folder.
    The very first time on Windows 11 I've tried to rightclick a browser shortcut, it gave me a "strange" - like it's a picture - menu.
    There was no Run as Admin, Run Sandboxed, Copy, Paste, Open file location, etc..., therefore, I've clicked on "More options".
    And since then, no luck.
     
  25. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    956
    Location:
    usa
    What's interesting, when I move a shortcut from my folder on the Desktop, then, I can rightclick on any App/Browser, but...
    I can't find any mentioning, "Run Sandboxed'.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.